- June 6 - Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex by Sam Holbrooks


Josh Richards at Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex

Josh Richards drove the Ernie Davis #25 to back-to-back wins on Sunday and Monday at Winchester (Va.) Speedway and Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex in Markleysburg, Pa. (Gary Shrey)

Appalachian Mt. Speedweek: Richards Claims Second Straight on Night #3 at Roaring Knob

track report

MARKLEYSBURG, Pa. - June 6. Josh Richards of Shinnston, W.V. captured the 40-lap, $5000 to win Super Late Model feature Monday at Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex.  Richards' win was his second straight of the week long Appalachian Mountain Speedweek. Roaring Knob was race number three of seven. 

Rick Eckert at Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex

World of Outlaws regular Rick Eckert raced to fifth place in his second year of competition with the seven race AMS tour. (Todd Battin)

Jason Covert started on the pole of the 40-lap grind and battled with Vic Coffey before he began to break away from the pack. Richards slipped into second on lap six and the chase was on. A caution on lap eight closed the gap. Richards stayed glued to Covert’s bumper as the race went back to green. Lap after lap Covert held the advantage over the 2010 World of Outlaws Champion, Josh Richards.  Covert was leading at lap six.

Nick Dickson at Roaring Knob

Nick Dickson, a 2010 AMS winner at Selinsgrove, races toward a ninth place finish at Roaring Knob. (Todd Battin)

As the field was coming around for the half-way sign, Richards slid his Ernie Davis owned Rocket past Covert to take the lead. Once out front Richards had no real challenges. Two more cautions would slow the event but each time Richards was up to the task and came home with his second straight Appalachian Mountain Speedweek checker. He also won the night before at Winchester Speedway in Virginia.

Josh Richards - Jason Covert - AMS at Roaring Knob

Josh Richards races with Jason Covert during the early laps at Roaring Knob M/P. (Todd Battin)

Following Richards across the finish line were Jason Covert, Vic Coffey, Jamie Lathroum and WoO point leader Rick Eckert. Sixth through tenth were Jared Hawkins (from 20th), Jeremy Miller, Keith Jackson, Nick Dickson and Austin Hubbard.  Hubbard also set fast time for the 46 car field and picked up $200 given by Ernie Davis of  Ernie's Salvage. 

June 6 - AMS - Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex
1) Josh Richards, 2) Jason Covert, 3) Vic Coffey, 4) Jamie Lathroum, 5) Rick Eckert, 6) Jared Hawkins, 7) Jeremy Miller, 8) Keith Jackson, 9) Nick Dickson, 10) Austin Hubbard, 11) D.J. Myers, 12) Jake Hawkins, 13) Ron Delano, Jr., 14) Devin Friese, 15) Dan Stone, 16) Scott Rhodes, 17) Mel Minnick, Jr., 18) Darryl Hills, 19) Gregg Satterlee, 20) Tim McCreadie, 21) Sam Stile, 22) Chad McClellan, 23) Steve Campbell, 24) Greg Gellner, 25) Jimmy Mars
Fast Time (46 entries): Hubbard; Heat winners: Miller, Lathroum, Richards, Dickson. B-Main winners: Myers, McClellan.

Todd Battin photo 


Wehrs Machine

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 10-02-11


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Billy Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

Weekend Warriors

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box