- June 5 - Ocala Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


Kellum - Williams - Ferry

 John Kellum, #24 Dennis Williams, and #17 Richard Ferry use up plenty of race track in some close racing during the "James Powell Memorial" at at Ocala Speedway.(Rick Warren)








Sleeper Phillip Cobb Sneaks to "Powell Memorial" Win at Ocala

by B.J. Cavin

OCALA, Fla.- June 5. While all eyes were fixed on three of the area's top dirt track campaigners in Friday's 15th annual "Powell Memorial" at Ocala Speedway, Phillip Cobb crept forward, made some maneuvers toward the front, and came away with a $5,000 win in one of the area's most prestigious events.

Ocala's hometown favorite, Ivedent Lloyd, is the defending winner of the Powell Memorial, and his blistering 15.378 lap earned him the Zeigler Racing Engines Fast Qualifier award. Lloyd also drove his Roush-Yates powered ride to a convincing win in his heat race, but the invert at the start of the main event placed him in the third position while his teammate and friend, Darrell Padgett, earned the pole position and led early on.

Tyler Ivey was a sure bet to possibly get the better of Lloyd, but an opening lap spin and contact with a tractor tire in turn three put him to the rear of the field instead of in the fourth spot beside Lloyd. Despite the early mishap, Ivey managed to get the car repaired under yellow and return to the race without

Phillip Cobb and team after his "James Powell Memorial" win at Ocala.

(Rick Warren)









losing a lap. Ivey then used patience and determination to work his way up as high as second place before misfortune came his way again later in the race. Ivey was running on the outside and looking to challenge the race leader when he hit and rode up on the turn two wall, which knocked him back to the sixth spot. Then he spun in turn four and found himself fighting back from adversity yet again, eventually salvaging a top five finish.

The race also produced a prolonged and heated battle between Ivedent Lloyd and Mark Whitener, where the two racers flipped the lead a few times while battling side by side. Their battle continued unabated until Jack Nosbisch saw an opening and joined the competition up front, thus complicating the race for

Two favorites to win the Ocala event, #58 Mark Whitener and Ivedent Lloyd, swapped the lead several times.

(Rick Warren)








the leaders. Depending on who was leading at the time, Nosbisch fought some impressive battles of his own, using the outside to remain side-by-side with either Lloyd or Whitener. And while those three were preoccupied with each other, Cobb quietly moved through the top ranks until he also was involved in the racing in at the front of the pack.

Nosbisch had just stolen the lead from Ivedent Lloyd on lap 54 when Cobb charged forward to give Nosbisch a scare, eventually wrestling the lead away. Lloyd hung tough but had used up his tires and could not muster the moves to retake what he had lost. Lloyd and Jack Nosbisch were left to do battle for second place while Cobb extended his lead.

A couple of late lap caution periods were enough to keep things close and keep open track in front of the leaders, and on a restart on lap 68, Nosbisch made a last ditch effort to catch Phillip Cobb napping. Cobb was not buying it, and went on to collect the $5000 check, and notch his name in the honored list of those who have won the Powell Memorial.

Lloyd followed Cobb across the line to claim the second place finish, while Mark Whitener placed third. Jack Nosbisch might have made his move too early and thus faded a bit to finish in the fourth spot, while Tyler Ivey rallied to take a fifth place finish. Christian Augspurger, who just turned 15 years old and made history as the youngest Powell Memorial racer to date, drove a very patient and controlled race to earn the sixth spot.

RACE NOTES: It seemed destined to be a special race.When the forecast was for a 70% chance of thunderstorms, nary a drop fell at Ocala Speedway. Secondly, most of the brightest and best late model racers in the region came to Florida's oldest speedway, with the Sunoco United Dirt Late Model Challenge Series (UDLMCS) to race in the event. And last, but certainly not least, James Powell III was again in attendance in order to carry on with the memory of the family members whom he lost so tragically.... David Clegg's night ended in his heat race when his car rode the wall in turn one toward turn two. Clegg's machine then climbed the barrier between turns one and two, straddling the top of the wall and destroying the warning signal on that end of the track. While the track crews worked to extricate Clegg's car from the top of the wall, the veteran racer was left to walk back to the pit area to end his night.

Ocala Speedway 15th Annual Powell Memorial - June 5
1) Phillip Cobb, 2) Ivedent Lloyd, 3) Mark Whitener, 4) Jack Nosbisch, 5) Tyler Ivey, 6) Christian Augspurger, 7) Darrell Padgett, 8) Dennis Williams, 9) Shane Williams, 10) Keith Nosbisch, 11) Jimmy Waldrop, 12) Dillon Wood, 13) Tim Zackery, 14) Brandon DeWitt, 15) Brandon Cameron, 16) Chuck Chitty, 17) Kenny Monahan, 18) Johnny Collins, 19) Richard Ferry, 20) Wallace Peacock
, 21) John Kellum


Updated 11/02/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine