- June 4 - Bubba Raceway Park - Ocala by Sam Holbrooks


Ivedent Lloyd - Dillon Wood - Bubba Raceway Park UDLMCS

Eventual winner Tyler Ivey sneaks to the outside of Dillon Wood before advancing to the front of the field to win the James Powell Memorial at Bubba Raceway Park. (Rick Warren)

UDLMCS: Lloyd Wins Big at Powell Memorial

Jimmy Rouse 
OCALA, Fla. - June 3. Some drivers dream of February. Some dream of May. In northeast Florida, they dream of June and its Powell Memorial at Bubba Raceway Park, a tribute to the family of James Powell, who was so tragically lost on June 7th, 1995. With $10,000 on the line, it was Ivedent Lloyd, Jr. taking top honors.
Former wrestler Hulk Hogan looks a little intense as he brings the UDLMCS field to green at the start of the Powell Memorial at Ocala.(Rick Warren)
  After a redraw of the top ten qualifiers through the heat races, the pole was not drawn, which handed it to Jay Johnson. Johnson, however, was not able to fire his engine until Hulk Hogan, honorary Grand Marshal for the 16th annual Powell Memorial, allowed 'The Brothers' on the frontstretch to fire those 25 engines. The Powell Memorial was shortened to 67 laps for 2011 in honor of the date of the accident, 6/7.
Johnson kept his #1J on point until he gave way to Lloyd on lap 17. Lloyd held on for 17 laps until David Clegg, owner of the car Lloyd drove to victory two years ago, spun in turn three. A six-lap run followed the Clegg yellow flag  
before Johnson's turn four spin caused Tyler Ivey, Christian Augspurger, Mike Nasworthy, and Roger Crouse to all pile up. Four of the five were able to continue, but the hard-charging Ivey, who had gained 14 spots after 40 laps, would not be able to keep up his good points runs at Bubba Raceway Park. 
Mark Whitener and Dillon wood at Bubba Raceway Park UDLMCS
Mark Whitener (58) gave up ground to Dillon Wood (outside) before finishing sixth.  Wood advanced to fourth at the finish.(Rick Warren)
Another five-lap green run ended when Roger Crouse stopped in turn three. The restart consisted of a lead change as Dillon Wood led for two laps, but Lloyd would not be denied again as he drove back around Wood on lap 48. Six laps later, Shan Smith made a great save to not cripple anybody's race car, but the caution returned. 
Jay Johnson - Tyler Ivey at Bubba Raceway Park UDLMCS
Jay Johnson races with #47 Tyler Ivey after leading the first 17 laps of the Ocala event. Johnson later spun and collected Ivey and several others. (Rick Warren) 
The lap 54 restart was called off as the green dropped, so they fell into line for the restart of the restart. The final 13 laps jumbled some of the top five up, but Lloyd was first under the checkers, right in front of the only other Powell winner in the field, Johnny Collins. Jeff Mathews finished third, while Dillon Wood faded a bit at the end to take fourth over 22nd starting Keith Nosbisch.

Ivedent Lloyd VL at Bubba Raceway Park

Ivedent scored a big $10,000 victory on the UDLMCS tour with his win in the James Powell Memorial at Bubba Raceway Park (formerly Ocala Speedway. (Rick Warren)   

June 4 - Bubba Raceway Park UDLMCS
1) Ivedent lloyd, Jr., 2) Johnny Collins, 3) Jeff Mathews, 4) Dillon Wood, 5) Keith Nosbisch, 6) Mark Whitener, 7) Brandon Cameron, 8) Brandon DeWitt, 9) Matt Hartley, 10) Shan Smith, 11) Bo Allen, 12) Roger Crouse, 13) Adam Giles, 14) Christian Augspurger, 15) Darrell Padgett, 16) Kyle Vansickle, 17) Mike Nasworthy, 18) Bobby Richardson, 19) Ryan Vansickle, 20) Cale Simons, 21) Jay Johnson, 22) Hunter Peacock, 23) Tyler Ivey, 24) David Clegg, 25) John Kellum 

Rick Warren photo 


Wehrs Machine


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Bill Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 09-25-11

Weekend Warriors

Calumet County Fairgrounds "Chilton Fall Invitational" - Russ Scheffler

Russ Scheffler at Calumet Co. Fairgrounds

Billed as "the largest race at the smallest track in Wisconsin", the Calumet Co. "Fall Invitational" played out on Sept. 23-24,  and Russ Scheffler drove his #74 to the win in the event. (Michael Esser)

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box