- June 4-5 - Great American Dirt Track by Sam Holbrooks


Anderson Pockets $10K in "Sunflower State Showdown"

JETMORE, Kan. - June 6. In perhaps the biggest win of his career, Omaha, Nebraska’s John Anderson took the lead with three laps remaining to take the first annual “Sunflower State Showdown” at the Great American Dirt Track Saturday and earn a healthy $10,000 for the victory. The race was a three

Nebraska's John Anderson enjoyed a $10,000 day in the sun at Kansas' Great American Dirt Track. (Ron Mitchell)

series co-sanctioned event with the O’Reilly National Championship Racing Association, MARS DIRTCar series and CLMA DIRTCar series.  

Current MARS DIRTCar series point leader Eric Turner of Hermitage, Mo. took the lead from the pole at the start of the 50-lap feature. The lead would only last one lap, however, as Friday's preliminary feature winner Jeremy Payne used his outside front row starting position to drive around Turner exiting turn two to lead lap two.  

Putting in an impressive run ahead of the like #75 Terry Phillips and #14 Kyle Berck, #00 Eddie Kirchoff grabbed third place in the Jetmore final.

(Ron Mitchell)










 Not to be outdone, fifth starting Jack Sullivan of Greenbriar, Arkansas wanted his chance at the lead and took over the point on lap three. Sullivan started to pull away from the field throughout the early portion of the race, but that would change on lap 21 when the first caution of the feature fell for Darrell Mooneyham. 

Taking advantage of the double file restart behind the leader, Turner used his outside starting position to overtake Sullivan and regain the lead. Turner was starting to cruise but on lap 26, the caution fell for Bill Koons, who came to a stop on the raceway.  

Turner stayed out front on the restart with Anderson, Sullivan, Eddie Kirchoff and Kelly Boen giving chase before the caution waved once again on lap 28 for a stalled Al Purkey. 

Once racing action resumed, Turner was pressured by Sullivan, who tried several failed attempts at retaking the top spot until his persistence finally paid off and on lap 35 saw him pass Turner to take the lead. 

Gary Christian battles off #14 Brad Looney after losing his pole position advantage in Saturday's final. (Ron Mitchell)








It appeared Sullivan was on cruise control as he had worked up to a half stretch lead with ten laps remaining. However it all went south with six laps to go as the motor blew on his #1 GRT,ending his night and hopes for victory.  

This gave Turner the lead with four laps remaining, but also bunched up the field on the restart with Anderson, Boen, Terry Phillips and Kirchoff close behind. Another caution on the attempted restart for Corey Zeitner brought some drama on the next restart. 

Once racing action resumed, Turner again held the point but behind him the battle for second was fierce as Anderson and four time NCRA champion Boen battled for the position. Lap 46 saw Anderson and Boen make contact entering turn one, causing Boen to spin and cause major front end damage on the Terry Pannell Motorsports owned #33x, ending his night. 

The final restart saw a four lap shootout, with Turner again jumping out into the lead. Anderson, Kirchoff, Phillips and defending O’Reilly/NCRA late model champion Kyle Berck gave chase, but it was Anderson who benefited the most on the restart and was glued to the leader’s bumper. 

Lap 47 saw Turner stay low entering turns one and two, while Anderson worked the top of the three-eighths mile oval. Anderson, aboard the Shop Quik Convenience stores #2 got a bite coming out of turn two and down the backstretch to overtake the lead. 

From then on there was no catching Anderson as he held on to take the victory and the Sunflower State Showdown. Turner held to second while Kirchoff out ran Phillips late to take the third position. MARS DIRTCar rookie Gary Christian rounded out the top five.  

NCRA/MARS/CLMA - Great American Dirt Track - June 4-5
1, John Anderson. 2, Eric Turner. 3, Eddie Kirchoff. 4, Terry Phillips. 5, Gary Christian. 6, Dean Moore. 7, Kyle Berck. 8, Shawn Harker. 9, Dustin Mooneyham. 10, David Brack. 11, Al Purkey. 12, Jason Schierholk. 13, Corey Zeitner. 14, Bill Koons. 15, Scott Lewis. 16, Dave Garman. 17, Leroy Johnson. 18, Kelly Boen. 19, Brad Looney. 20, Jase Kaser. 21, Jack Sullivan. 22, Jeremy Payne. 23, Steve Lewis. 24, Wylan Petrie. 25, Darrell Mooneyham. 26, Brady Wagner. 27, Patrick Johnson. Heat winners: Moore, Brack, Christian; Pole Dash: Turner

Ron Mitchell photo

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm


Updated 11/17/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine