- June 3 - Tazewell Speedway by Sam Holbrooks

Jared Landers at Tazwell Speedway Lucas Oil Series 
 Batesville, Ark. racer Jared Landers at Tazewell Speedway before racing to his second career Lucas Oil Late Model Series win. Landers held off Jonathan Davenport after a flag to flag lead. (Thomas Hendrickson)
Lucas Oil Series: Landers Lands Second Lucas Win in Flag-to-Flag Run 
James Essex 
TAZEWELL, Tenn. – June 3. Jared Landers of Batesville, Ark. led all the way in winning the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series sanctioned "Toyota of Knoxville 75" Friday at Tazewell Speedway. Landers earned $10,00 for his second career late model victory in a hotly contested race. Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, Ga. finished a close second, followed by Jimmy Owens, Steve Francis, and 23rd starting Don O’Neal. 
Scott Bloomquist is greeted by Crew Chief Tommy Hicks after an altercation with Frank Heckenast, Jr.,  that cost the Tennessee veteran three laps in the pits and trimmed his Lucas Oil Series points lead to 15. (Thomas Hendrickson)
Jared Landers - Jonathan Davenport - Mike Marlar
Jared Landers led #49 Jonathan Davenport to a narrow one-two finish in Lucas Oil Late Model Series action at Tazewell Speedway. Mike Marlar (36) was running a close third when his engine expired with six to go.  (Michael Moats)

“I don’t know what to say, except that the car was strong all night long, thanks to my crew they did a great job. Tommy Grecco is now my new crew chief, and to win here at Tazewell is just unbelievable,” said the 30-year-old Landers, who currently leads the Rookie of the Year chase for the series. 
There was a massive pileup on the first lap included Davenport, Ray Cook, Scott Bloomquist, Owens and Steve Casebolt resulted in a red flag. When the race resumed, Landers grabbed the lead with Davenport in tow. 
Don O'Neal - Tyler Reddick - Tazewell Speedway 
Moving toward the front after an early altercation, Don O'Neal started 23rd and raced back to a fifth place finish at Tazewell. Young Tyler Reddick (#11) held his own for sixth place.  (Thomas Hendrickson)
Mike Marlar followed in the third, chased by Francis and John Blankenship. The top five remained the same until a caution came out on lap 24. Owens, who had to restart on the tail because he went to the pits, was up to ninth in the running order. 
Landers maintained his lead as Davenport, Marlar and Francis all closed on him. Francis dove to the inside of Marlar in the race for third as the top three ran door-to-door Francis got caught behind Billy Ogle, Jr. who was exiting the track, causing Francis to loose several spots.  
Steve Francis - Eric Wells - Lucas Oil Series at Tazewell Speedway 
Steve Francis battles #18 Eric Wells for position on his way to a confrontation with the leaders from third place. (Thomas Hendrickson)
With 25 laps to go, Landers was still out in front with Davenport and Marlar putting the heat on him. Owens had climbed inside the top five after getting around Tyler Reddick and was now hunting down the leaders. Marlar saw his night go up in smoke as his engine let go six laps from the finish. Marlar slowed on the front stretch, bringing out the final caution of the race. This set up a shootout to the finish between Landers, Davenport, and Owens. 

Landers managed to withstand several challenges from Davenport and Owens, but beat the duo to the line for his first series win of the year.

Bloomquist still holds the series points lead despite finishing three laps down with severe damage to his car. Owens is now just 15 points behind Bloomquist. 
Tazewell Wreck - Lucas Oil Late Model Series
An early melee' proved to be a game changer for some at Tazewell.  Scott Bloomquist's #0 survived, only to be caught in a later altercation that left him three laps down, and #11 Tyler Reddick able to recover a sixth place showing. Jonathan Davenport (49) made repairs and rallied to second, while #53 Ray Cook returned, but made a late exit. Only Steve Casebolt was unable to continue after the wreck. (Michael Moats)
Tyler Landers VL1 Tazewell Speedway
Tyler Landers (Michael Moats)
June 3 - Lucas Oil Series - Tazewell Speedway
1) Jared Landers, 2) Jonathan Davenport, 3) Jimmy Owens, 4) Steve Francis, 5) Don O'Neal, 6) Tyler Reddick, 7) John Blankenship, 8) Dale McDowell, 9) Eric Wells, 10) Brad Neat, 11) Eric Jacobsen, 12) Chris Wall, 13) Scott Bloomquist, 14) Mike Marlar, 15) Bub McCool, 16) Vic Hill, 17) Ray Cook, 18) Tommy Kerr, 19) Bryan Hendrix, 20) Jason Trammell, 21) Earl Pearson, Jr., 22) Billy Ogle, Jr., 23) Frank Heckenast, Jr., 24) Steve Casebolt
Fast Time (30 entries): Davenport (10.983); Heat winners: Landers, Francis, Owens, Bloomquist. B-Main winners: Kerr, McCool.

Michael Moats photo 




Wehrs Machine

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 10-02-11


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Billy Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

Weekend Warriors

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box