- June 30 - Independence Motor Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


Rob Toland at Independence Iowa

Rob Toland races toward his first win in more than three years on the Deery Brothers tour. (Mike Ruefer)

Toland Returns For Deery Win at Indy
Larry Bontz
INDEPENDENCE, Ia. - June 30. As 48 Late Model teams made their way to the Independence Motor Speedway Wednesday for the resumption of Deery Brothers Summer Series racing action, this event saw a new feature winner for 2010, but not new to the Deery Series Winner's Circle. Rob Toland took the lead on lap 22 and sailed out front the rest of the way in the 50-lap main.
After polesitter Mark Burgtorf and his front row counterpart Toland brought the field around for the waving green,the yellow flag was promptly flying as Brian Klein and Joel Callahan mixed it up in turn four. The race resumed with Burgtorf regrabbing the lead and Toland in hot pursuit. The two drivers ran one-two through lap 13, when Jeff Aikey and Joel Callahan tangled in turn four and leader Mark Burgtorf, with no place to go, tangled as well, notching a hole in his radiator.

Ray Guss, Jr. races past #57 Mark Presston on his way to fifth place at Indy. Presston settled for ninth. 

(Mike Ruefer) 

With Burgtorf's night over, this made a double front row on the restart of Toland and Kevin Blum, who shot into the lead on the restart, with Toland in check. The two drivers ran one-two until lap 22,when Toland moved ahead of Blum for the lead. By then, eighth starting Terry Neal was up to third, ahead of 11th starting Dan Shelliam fourth and 15th starting Ray Guss, Jr. in the fifth slot.
Toland began to put some distance between himself and Blum, but by lap 35, Neal replaced Blum for second, but Toland kept the rest of the field at bay the rest of the way.

Davenport's Rob Toland after his 19th career IMCA Deery Brothers Late Model win, but his first in more than three years.

(Mike Ruefer)
In Victory Lane, the ever humble Toland stated, "I didn't expect this. Kevin Blum,Terry Neal, Ray Guss, Jr. - there are a lot of good drivers that run this Deery Series".
But, it was "Rocket Rob" Toland's night to shine as he claimed his first series win of the season over Neal, Blum, Shelliam, and Guss.
Deery Brothers - Independence Motor Speedway
1. Rob Toland 2.Terry Neal 3. Kevin Blum 4. Dan Shelliam 5. Ray Guss Jr., 6. Tyler Breuning 7. Jeremiah Hurst 8. Tom Goble 9. Mark Preston 10. Andy Eckrich, 11. Jay Johnson, 12. Darrel DeFrance, 13. Greg Kastli, 14. Charlie McKenna, 15. Bryan Klein, 16. Rick Wendling, 17. Luke Goedert, 18. Cory Goldbeck, 19. Darin Burco, 20. Travis Smock, 21. Josh Most, 22. Mark Burgtorf, 23. Jeff Aikey, 24. Joel Callahan.

Heat winners: Preston, Kastli, Hurst, Burgtorf, Blum; B-Main Winners: Johnson, Most. Mike Ruefer photo

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm


Updated 11/17/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine