- June 2 - Cleveland Speedway by Sam Holbrooks

Lucas Oil Series: "Show-Me" Winner Owens Shows `em Again at Cleveland
James Essex
CLEVELAND, Tenn. –  June 2. Jimmy Owens of Newport, Tenn. made his second consecutive win in Lucas Oil Late Model Series competition as he captured the 50-lap $10,000 to win "Race for a Cure for Juvenile Diabetes" on Thursday at Cleveland Speedway. Owens took the lead from Ray Cook on lap 34 and then went unchallenged the rest of the way. Cook finished second, followed by Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, Ga., Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, Tenn., and Clint Smith of Senoia, Ga.

“We don’t get to run around here much anymore,” said the 39-year-old Owens, who scored his 24th series win tonight.  “It’s great to win among the fans we have that traveled down here. The track was in excellent shape tonight, maybe the best track we’ve seen this year, hats off to Monty (Morrow) and his staff.”

“I knew Ray (Cook) had the preferred line on the start, but we caught up to him in traffic. When we did, we were able to get by him. I want to thank my car owner, Mike Reece; he couldn’t be here tonight, because he’s up in Canada. A big thanks to all my crew, it was a short week and they had the car prepared great,” said Owens. The win brings Owens to within 70 points of Bloomquist.
Owens led the first lap, as he and Cook came across the scoring line, side-by-side. Cook then took the point on lap two and led until traffic jumbled his chance for a win. Owens dove underneath him coming off of turn four, then led the rest of the way unchallenged as Cook settled into second.
Jimmy Owens was the Red Buck Cigars Fast Qualifier among the 31 entrants. Owens earned an additional $250 from Murphy Glass & Mirror and Cleveland Aluminum Products. Heat race winners were Owens, Jared Landers, Ray Cook, and Bub McCool. Eric Wells and David Payne captured the B-Mains.

June 2 - LucasOil Series at Cleveland Speedway
1) Jimmy Owens, 2) Ray Cook, 3) Jonathan Davenport, 4) Scott Bloomquist, 5) Clint Smith, 6) Jared Landers, 7) Brad Neat, 8) Billy Ogle, Jr., 9) Earl Pearson, Jr., 10) Don O'Neal, 11) Steve Francis, 12) David Payne, 13) Chris Wall (prov.), 14) John Blankenship (prov.), 15) Bub McCool, 16) Eric Wells, 17) Mike Marlar, 18) Frank Heckenast, Jr. (prov.), 19) Dale McDowell, 20) Eric Jacobsen, 21) Tyler Reddick, 22) Steve Casebolt, 23) Chris Brown, 24) William Thomas, 25) Dan Schlieper

Fast Time (31 entries): Jimmy Owens (13.502); Heat winners: Owens, Landers, Cook, McCool; B-Main winners: Wells, Payne.

Todd Battin photo


Wehrs Machine

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 10-02-11


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Billy Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

Weekend Warriors

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box