- June 26 - Oakshade Raceway by Sam Holbrooks


UMP: Schlenk Takes Barney Oldfield Memorial at Oakshade

Track report

WAUSEON, Oh. - June 26. Rusty Schlenk added his name to the prestigious list of Barney Oldfield Race winners on Saturday night that includes the likes of Matt Miller, Jeep Van Wormer, Duane Chamberlain, Kris Patterson, Shane Yoder and many more. It was his fourth UMP Late Model feature win at Oakshade Raceway this year in the 21st Annual Barney Oldfield Race which added to his Oakshade point lead and will help pad his UMP National point lead.

2008 Oldfield winner Casey Noonan started on the pole, but got a little sideways in the first set of corners which allowed Schlenk to take the lead after starting on the outside of the front row. Brian Ruhlman applied some early pressure on the leader, but Schlenk began to pull away until a spin by Hillard Miller brought out the only yellow flag of the race on lap six. Schlenk fended off another challenge from Ruhlman for the lead on the restart and then set sail.

Dona Marcoullier was the biggest mover of the race. He started 13th and by lap 11 was up to third. Just four laps later, Marcoullier took over second and began to slowly reel in the 91 car of Rusty Schlenk. Marcoullier only managed to close in to about a half straightaway behind Schlenk and then began to lose ground later in the race as Schlenk went on to win the $4,600 Barney Oldfield Race. Marcoullier had to settle for second followed by Brian Ruhlman and Rick Delong who gained ten positions to finish fourth. Pole-sitter and last week’s feature winner Casey Noonan wound up finishing fifth.

UMP Barney Oldfield Memorial - Oakshade Raceway
(1) Rusty Schlenk, (2) Dona Marcoullier, (3) Brian Ruhlman, (4) Rick Delong, (5) Casey Noonan, (6) Frank Heckenast Jr., (7) Dusty Moore, (8) Ryan Missler, (9) Devin Shiels, (10) Curtis Deisenroth, (11) Kevin Reeve, (12) Jeff Babcock, (13) Curtis Roberts, (14) Rich Neiser, (15) Ron Miller, (16) Donnie Marcoullier, (17) Chris Keller, (18) Hillard Miller, (19) Ken Hahn, (20) Josh Scott.
Heat winners (39 entries): Schlenk, Ruhlman, Noonan, Moore. B-Main winners: Babcock, Hahn
Jim Denhamer photo

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm


Updated 11/17/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine