- June 26 - I-96 Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


Shannon Babb in Victory Lane at I-96 Speedway

Shannon Babb at I-96 Speedway. (Randy Ellen)

Shannon Babb and Jeep Van Wormer at I-96 Speedway 
Shannon Babb claimed a late lead and led Jeep Van Wormer to the checkered flag to claim his first 2011 Summer Nationals win at I-96 Speedway on Sunday. (Randy Ellen)

DirtCar Summer Nationals: Babb Blasts to I-96 Win

Kellen Burns

LAKE ODESSA, Mich. - June 26, 2011 - Shannon Babb was in the right place at the right time Sunday night during the DirtCar Summer Nationals "Hell Tour" at I-96 Speedway. Babb, a two-time Summer Nationals champion, raced to the lead on lap 37 when leader Brian Shirley of Chatham, Ill. bounced off the back

Jeep Van Wormer holds a tenuous lead over #18 Shannon Babb and #21 Billy Moyer in preliminary action for the Summer Nationals event at I-96 Speedway. Babb later went on to lead Van Wormer to the checkers. (Randy Ellen) 
stretch wall and out of the lead.

At that point, Babb had only to hold off Pinconning, Mich., driver Jeep VanWormer over the final three circuits to claim the $5,000 winner's prize. The victory is the Moweaqua, Ill., natives first on the 2011 Hell Tour, and makes him the new Summer Nationals point leader after six events.

Shannon Babb and Jeep Van Wormer 2 at I-96

With Shannon Babb in front, Jeep Van Wormer slips off-track while running second. (Below) With Billy Moyer moving in, Van Wormer recovers to maintain his position. (Randy Ellen)

Jeep Van Wormer at I-96 Speedway Summer Nationals

VanWormer, who climbed from a seventh place starting spot, would chase Babb to the line where he settled for second. Defending Summer Nationals Champion Jason Feger of Bloomington, Ill., came home third ahead of Pierce chassis stable mate Brandon Sheppard of New Berlin, Ill. Jack Sullivan of Greenbriar, Ark., rounded out the top five, his best finish thus far in 2011 Summer Nationals competition.

Shannon Babb hd I-96 DIRTcar Summer Nationals at I-96 Speedway
1. Shannon Babb, 2. Jeep Van Wormer, 3. Jason Feger, 4. Brandon Sheppard, 5. Jack Sullivan, 6. Dennis Erb Jr., 7. Scott James (prov.), 8. Billy Moyer Jr., 9. Dillan White, 10. Zack Olger, 11. Ryan Unzicker, 12. Curtis Roberts, 13. Brian Ruhlman, 14. Alan Vochaska, 15. Dona Marcoullier, 16. Donny Walden 17. Brandon Thirlby, 18. Eric Spangler (prov.), 19. Brian Shirley, 20. Frank Heckenast Jr., 21. Tom Sprague Jr., 22. Rusty Schlenk (prov.).
Fast Time (46 entries): Olger (16.255) Heat winners: Olger, Shirley, Babb, White. B-Main winner: Ruhlman.

Jiim Denhamer photo


Wehrs Machine

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 10-02-11


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Billy Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

Weekend Warriors

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box