- June 26 - Crawford County Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


MSRA: Frye Scores at a Wet Crawford County

VAN BUREN , Ark. - June 26. One night after finishing in the second spot at Beebe Speedway, Bill Frye from Greenbriar, Arkansas overcame Mother Nature and a solid field of competitors to power his #66 Rocket Chassis to his third COMP Cams MSRA Super Late Model win on Saturday night at Crawford County Speedway.

With twenty-two competitors entered for battle, late evening showers almost saw the first ever COMP Cams MSRA event at the facility nixed before it ever got underway. However, the staff with the COMP Cams MSRA Super Late Model tour and Crawford County Speedway worked diligently to get the track race ready, and after a delay, the event finally got underway.

It was Jeff Floyd from Walnut Ridge, Arkansas, who accumulated the most passing points in heat race action to earn the JFR Graphics Pole Position for the 40 lap, $2,000 to win feature. He was joined on the front row by Bill Frye. At the drop of the green flag, Frye would use the high line to assume control of the lead with Floyd, Johnny Virden, and Kyle Beard in pursuit.

With a heavy cushion as a result of the rain earlier in the evening most of the competitors opted to run the cushion in the feature, and they would chase Frye the entire 40 laps as he raced his way to the win in front of a large, enthusiastic crowd. The triumph was his third of the 2010 COMP Cams MSRA campaign.

Frye was followed across the finish line by Jeff Floyd, Kyle Beard, Johnny Virden, and Dewaine Hottinger.

Via his win, Bill Frye moved into the second position in the COMP Cams MSRA standings behind Kyle Beard. The victory also tied Frye with Kyle Beard as the winningest driver in the history of the COMP Cams MSRA Super Late Model tour with seven wins.

Two time, COMP Cams MSRA Champion, Joey Mack, endured tough luck for the second straight night. In heat race action, Mack had an oil fire, but refused to pit as he shot smoke and fire out of his #97 Rocket for the last few laps of his heat race. In the feature, the oil leak returned soaking his tire, which caused him to push up the track and jump the cushion. He would rebound to a 7th place finish.
Heat races for the twenty-two car field were won by Bill Frye, Jeff Floyd, and Johnny Virden.

Kuntz & Company Rookie of the Year contender, Brandon Smith was the Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger after racing his way from his 14th starting position to an 8th place finish.

The Quartermaster Hard Luck Award went to Kuntz & Company Rookie of the Year contender, Charlie Cole, who saw his night come to an early after he sustained damage in an early race incident.


June 26 - MSRA - Crawford County Speedway
1. Bill Frye, 2. Jeff Floyd, 3. Kyle Beard, 4. Johnny Virden, 5. Dewaine Hottinger, 6. Jon Mitchell, 7. Joey Mack, 8. Brandon Smith, 9. Ian Samuals, 10. Jon Kirby, 11. Larry Campbell, 12. Shane Stephens, 13. Eddie Martin, 14. Mark Stephens, 15. Stormy Derryberry, 16. Clay Fisher, 17. Eddie Provence, 18. Randy Russell, 19. Brandon Cheek, 20. Ray Peacock, 21. Charlie Cole, 22. Colton Dunlap
Top Qualifier: Floyd Heat Winners (22 entries): Frye, Floyd, Virden

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm


Updated 11/17/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine