- June 26 - Brill's Motor Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


Brad Fortney - MDLMS winner at Brill's Motor Speedway

MDLMS: Fortney Breaks Into Series Victory Lane at Brill's

Dusty Wiegert

MEEKER, Okla.— July 17. A full moon, 100 degrees, and a big group of spectators provided many thrills as the Midwest DIRTcar Late Model Series visited Brill's Motor Speedway for the first time ever. And the night also ended with driver Brad Fortney landing in Victory Lane for the very first time in his career.

Brad Fortney VL - MDLMS at Brill's Motor Speedway

Mike Howard photo

The main event kicked off with Cliff Morrow and Richard Leatherman on the front row to pace the field, while Texan Bryan Sugg quickly closed in and took the lead in only the second lap. A melee' on the backstretch involving Brian Bolster, points leader Gary Gorby, Damien Patocka, and Brad Fortney brought out a quick caution. Gorby was unable to continue as the field restarted. 

Darin Busch nurses a damaged tie rod to a sixth place finish at Brill's.

(Mike Howard)

Only a few laps later, Bolster and Tyler Gottschalk were involved in an accident on the frontstretch, leaving Gottschalk's car unable to continue.

Once the race got underway with a long green stretch Sugg took off with a huge lead and began lapping cars. Another yellow came out and while slowing to take the yellow Sugg's car stalled on the front stretch. A coil wire was to blame and Sugg was unable to continue, handing the lead over to Leatherman.
Cale Gottschalk - Brill's Motor Speedway
Cale Gottschalk races by Cliff Morrow on his way to second at Brill's. (Mike Howard)

On the restart, Leatherman spun his tires allowing Fortney, who worked his way from the back to the front after the early caution, to get underneath entering turn one and take away the lead. Cale Gottschalk was also able to slip by to take second. From there Fortney held on for his first victory, followed by Gottschalk, Leatherman, Morrow, and BMS owner Mark Brill.

Sugg took the win in the Alternative Pest Management Cash Dash as well as his heat race. Gorby won the other heat race earlier in the night. 

June 26 - MDLMS - Brill's Motor Speedway
1) Brad Fortney, 2) Cale Gottschalk, 3) Richard Leatherman, 4) Cliff Morrow, 5) Mark Brill, 6) Darin Busch, 7) Bryan Sugg, 8) Doug Sieh. 9) Brian Bolster, 10) Damien Patocka, 11) Tyler Gottschalk, 12) Gary Gorby, 13) Ron Grover - DNS, 14) Kip Hughes - DNS

Heat winners: Gorby, Sugg 

Mike Howard photo


LMA t-shirts 2010 sm


Updated 11/17/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine