- June 25 - Ponderosa Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


Volunteer Series Ponderosa Debut to Rattliff

Michael Despain

JUNTION CITY, Ky.- June 25. The Volunteer Racing Series made its first ever appearance at Ponderosa Speedway on Friday, and Justin Rattliff of Campbellsville, Ky. rode to victory in the 15th annual "Pete Abell Memorial" event, becoming the 13th different winner of the race.

Dustin Linville took the early race lead, followed by Greg Johnson, Mike Marlar, Justin Rattliff, and Todd Coffman before Mark Walters spun on lap two, collecting Dustin Neat and Kenny Cobble. Four laps later, Mike Strunk spun and collected Ray Jarnigan.

Back underway, Linville maintained the top spot while Marlar and Rattliff dove beneath Johnson to take second and third, moving Johnson back to fourth as Eddie Carrier, Jr. made his way to fifth.

Linville would start working slower traffic on lap 11, but the track cleared again on  lap 16 as Walters slowed with a flat tire. After another caution for debris, 11th starting Michael Chilton climbed to the fifth spot.

Finally Rattliff won the battle for second on lap 19, and Carrier took third from Marlar two trips later on lap 21. With second in hand, Rattliff began reeling in the leader as the pair got to traffic on lap 25. The duo were door-to-door for the lead on lap 27 before Rattliff gained the top spot on the next circuit and sailed to the win in his MGL Auto Sales/On-Time Courier/JRR Auto Sales/Budda Bert Transmission Sales and Service/Peterson Fluid Systems/Cox Wrecker Service/Grant Lee Farms sponsored #16.

Linville and Carrier, Jr. took second and third, with Marlar and Webb completing the top five.


Ponderosa Speedway - 15th Annual Pete Abell Memorial - June 25 
1) Justin Rattliff, 2) Dustin Linville, 3) Eddie Carrier, Jr., 4) Mike Marlar, 5) David Webb, 6) Michael Chilton, 7) Dustin Neat, 8) Greg Johnson, 9) Jeff Watson, 10) Todd Coffman, 11) Tim Tungate, 12) Aaron Ridley, 13) Mike Weeks, 14) Ross White, 15) Wesley Brummett, 16) Mike Strunk, 17) Ray Jarnigan, 18) Brandon Hardgrove, 19) D.J. Wells, 20) Mark Walters, 21) Skylar Marlar, 22) Kenny Cobble

Top Qualifier (22 entries): Rattliff (14.116 secs.); Heat winners: Marlar, Linville, Johnson.


LMA t-shirts 2010 sm


Updated 11/17/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine