- June 25 - Lernerville Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


Tim McCreadie after his win on night #2 of qualifying features for the "Fire- cracker 100" at Lerner- ville. 

(Cory Stivason) 






World of Outlaws: McCreadie Overtakes Smith For Victory In Second "Firecracker 100" Preliminary Feature

Kevin Kovac

SARVER, PA - June 25. Tim McCreadie rediscovered the path to Victory Lane on the World of Outlaws Late Model Series Friday at Lernerville Speedway.

And after capturing the second 30-lap preliminary A-Main of the fourth annual "Firecracker 100' presented by, the 2006 WoO LMS champion was allowing himself to dream of an even bigger triumph in Saturday's extra-distance, $30,000-to-win spectacular.

Tim McCreadie passes Brady Smith at Lernerville Speedway World of Outlaws

Tim McCreadie passes #2 Brady Smith for the lead on lap 21 of Friday's 30-lap preliminary feature for the "Firecracker 100". (Cory Stivason)

"We've struggled a little bit and been off, so we went back to the shop, changed some things and got back to where we were a year ago," said McCreadie, who earned $6,275 for his second win of the 2010 WoO LMS and guaranteed himself a pole starting spot in a "Firecracker 100" heat on Saturday.

McCreadie, 36, of Watertown, N.Y., started fourth but hustled his Sweeteners Plus Rocket car into second place on a lap-two restart. He then stalked leader Brady Smith of Solon Springs, Wis., until diving to the inside of turn four to assume command for good on lap 21.

In another fast-paced event slowed by only a single caution on lap two for a spin by Union, Ky.’s Darrell Lanigan, McCreadie crossed the finish line 1.386 seconds ahead of Josh Richards, who slipped by Smith for second with the white flag flying. The 22-year-old Richards, who started fifth, fell short of duplicating his victory in Thursday's 30-lap A-Main.

Jimmy Mars - Scott Bloomquist at Lernerville Speedway World of Outlaws
Some bumping and banging between #28 Jimmy Mars and Scott Bloomquist resulted in a heat race tangle that took Mars out of the hunt. Bloomquist went to the rear and was able to recover fourth in that race. (Cory Stivason)

"We came on at the end, but Timmy was really good", said Richards, who leads the WoO LMS with five victories this season. "We pretty much did the same thing we did last night, but the car was just a little bit too tight".”

Smith, 33, settled for third place after racing off the outside pole to lead laps 1-20. Sixth-starter Billy Moyer finished a steady fourth for the second consecutive night. and seventh-starter Dale McDowell, who didn't qualify for Thursday's A-Main, completed the top five.

McCreadie's discovery of the extreme lane was the key to his victory over Smith, who spent virtually the entire distance tossing his mount around the four-tenths-mile oval's outer lip.

The mop-haired McCreadie was bubbling with enthusiasm following his triumph, which was punctuated by a ear-splitting fireworks display during the Victory Lane ceremonies. He gave the slick Lernerville racing surface rave reviews, making him look forward to Saturday's Firecracker 100 finale.

"I like the way (the track) is,"”said McCreadie, whose previous WoO LMS win at Lernerville came during his 2006 championship season. "It's really neat. It takes a little more than just being really smooth - sometimes you gotta cock it and run hard. It's a pretty challenging track".”

Rookie Austin Hubbard of Seaford, Del., started from the pole position by steadily slipped backward, ultimately finishing sixth.

Tim Fuller blazed a trail in qualifying among 57 Lernerville entries on Friday, but was never a factor over the course of the night. (Cory Stivason)









Tim Fuller of Watertown, N.Y., was quickest in the 57-car time-trial session, touring the oval in 15.823 seconds. But his first fast time of the 2010 WoO LMS campaign was the highlight of his night; he was never a factor in the A-Main, finishing 17th.

The heat-race action was highlighted by a wild tangle during the second qualifier involving Bloomquist and defending "Firecracker 100" champion Jimmy Mars of Menomonie, Wis., who came together and slid off the track in turn one while battling for second place. Bloomquist restarted at the rear of the field and finished fourth, while Mars retired with suspension damage and was later unable to climb high enough to transfer to the feature through a B-Main.

Tim McCreadie - June 25 - Lernerville Speedway "Firecracker 100"’Preliminary Night No. 2
1) Tim McCreadie, 2) Josh Richards, 3) Brady Smith, 4) Billy Moyer, 5) Dale McDowell, 6) Austin Hubbard, 7) Steve Francis, 8) Mike Knight, 9) Doug Drown, 10) Will Vaught, 11) Shane Clanton, 12) Doug Horton, 13) Darrell Lanigan, 14) Scott Bloomquist, 15) Rick Eckert, 16) Davey Johnson, 17) Tim Fuller, 18) Dave Hess Jr., 19) Jamie Lathroum, 20) Brian Birkhofer, 21) Russell King (prov.), 22) Bub McCool, 23) Clint Smith (prov.), 24) Chub Frank, 25) Robbie Blair, 26) Steve Shaver.
Fast Time (57 entries): Fuller (15.823); Heat winners: Brady Smith, Horton, Richards, Hubbard, McCreadie, Moyer. B-Main Winners: Bloomquist, Clanton, Johnson

Cory Stivason photo

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm


Updated 11/17/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine