- June 24 - USA Speedway by Sam Holbrooks

Morgan Bagley at USA Speedway
Morgan Bagley emerges from his race car after another triumph at USA Speedway in Sterlington, La. (Keenes photography)
CCSDS: Bagley Claims Title to USA Speedway With Fourth Win  
Bryan Wimberley 
STERLINGTON, La. - June 24.  Morgan Bagley of Longview, Tex., again proved that his ruling of USA Speedway is no fluke, by winning $2,000 on the Comp Cams Super Dirt Series tour Friday. Bagley has grabbed all four track wins in a span of three months - this time taking a 35-lap victory over Trey Beene of Bossier City, La., by five lengths. 
The difference this time for Bagley was being victorious with his open motor car at the quarter-mile facility for the first time. It was also the first time that Bagley has won in the Arkansas-based series, going flag-to-flag in the caution free feature to secure the victory. (Bagley's other three wins here have come with the Baton Rouge-based SUPR Series). 
Morgan Bagley and Trey Beene at USA Speedway
In one of his best showings in recent years, Shreveport area veteran and former SUPR Series regular Trey Beene won the pole start and shadowed #14 Morgan Bagley to a second place showing at USA Speedway. (Keenes photography)
Polesitter Beene settled for second and hard charger Timothy Culp of West Monroe, La., finished third on a feature that saw limited movement throughout the top ten of drivers. Veteran Johnny Virden of Russellville, Ark., ended up fourth, but more importantly took over the series points lead from Kyle Beard and now leads Jon Mitchell of Texarkana, Tex., by just four points. Mitchell's fifth place result was also good enough to push him passed Beard in the standings.  
The most important key to the race fo front-row starter Bagley was beating Beene to the very first corner at the drop of the green flag. The 25-year old Texan threw his car in the high groove and motored around Beene to lead the pair going down the backstretch. Bagley found himself at point, leading Beene, Ian Samuels of Trumann, Ark., Culp, and Virden. Culp dipped by Samuels to take third on the next lap, with Bagley checking out to a two-second advantage over Beene just five laps in.  
 Timothy Culp - Third place at USA Speedway CCSDS
Also enjoying his stongest early season ever as one of the top 55 racers in the nation, young Monroe, La. area ace Timothy Culp races toward a third place finish at USA Speedway. (Keenes photography) 
Bagley expanded that margin to a straightway by lap ten, but was fast approaching the rear of the field. Bagley temporarily opted to trail the back of the pack for three laps, sizing up the best lane to pass in. At lap 15, Bagley made his move and began battling lapped traffic. As Bagley got into the heaviest group of cars, Beene started cutting into the lead significantly.  
By lap 20, Beene had narrowed Bagley's lead down to five lengths. In the meantime, Jon Mitchell had entered fifth over Samuels, as a five-car break-away ensued.  
For the first time all race long, Bagley started feeling heat from Beene, right on his decklid. It was apparent that the winner of the race would be the one that negotiated lap traffic the best for the remaining laps. With slower cars in front and halting the progress of the leaders, Culp pressured Beene for third with five laps to go.  
Culp would get a nose under Beene a couple of times, but could not hold it there long enough to complete the pass. This was a best-case scenario for Bagley, as Beene had to continously fight off Culp for the runner-up spot, enabling Bagley a little bit of breathing room for a circuit or two.  
With three laps to go, the top three would come together one last time to duke it out. It was going to be one thing to catch Bagley, but also another to pass him to break his grip of dominance at USA Speedway for the victory. Neither Beene or Culp would be able to accomplish that, as Bagley took his No.14M to his fourth consecutive win at a track that he has shown no weakness at.  
Morgan Bagley at USA Speedway 
Arguably the most talented driver to come out of the Lone Star State since Longview's Doug Ingalls, another Longview resident, Morgan Bagley, continues to make his mark with another win, this time with the CCSDS in the tour's visit to USA Speedway. (Keenes photography)
Notes: Bagley's Club 29 Rocket Chassis race car is powered by a Clements Racing Engine and sponsored by P&W Sales & Oilfield Mfg., Mr. Frank Motorsports, 360 Motorsports, Southern Transport, MSI, J&J Motorsports, Outerwears, Club 29 and Hyperco. 
* Bagley becomes the 28th different winner in the history of the Comp Cams Super Dirt Series.
* The 12-minute feature ended at 11:42 pm and went caution free, as lap traffic was encountered by the 15th circuit.
* The visit to USA Speedway was the CCSDS third appearance there in the last 13 months, with Jesse Stovall and Bill Frye claiming victories in the first two events.
* Jon Mitchell is the only driver in the Comp Cams Super Dirt Series to have three consecutive top tens at USA Speedway, finishing seventh and fourth the previous times. Mitchell also finished eighth last month in the O'Reilly Southern United Professional Racing Series at USA.
*Points leader coming into the USA Speedway event, Kyle Beard had back-to-back top fives snapped, finishing in 15th. Beard had registered a third and fifth in both CCSDS races last season.
* Curtis Cook of Vilonia, Ark., increased his CCSDS Rookie of the Year points lead over Shane Harris of Sheridan, Ark. -Cook finished eighth, while Harris struggled with a 16th-place finish.
* Jon Kirby of Russellville, Ark., had transmission issues in his heat race and would by-pass the consolation to complete repairs for the feature. Kirby took a provisional and wound up finishing 17th.
* Drivers not making the feature included, Geoff Aiken, Wesley Crutchfield and Jesse Mills. 
* The race was Comp Cams Super Dirt Series 73rd overall event in series history, dating back to April 2007.  
June 24 - Comp Cams - USA Speedway
1) Morgan Bagley, 2) Trey Beene, 3) Timothy Culp, 4) Johnny Virden, 5) Jon Mitchell, 6) Ian Samuels, 7) Clay Fisher, 8) Curtis Cook, 9) Wendell Wallace, 10) Allen Murray, 11) B.J. Robinson, 12) Stacy Taylor, 13) Brandon Smith, 14) Mark Underwood, Jr., 15) Kyle Beard, 16) Shane Harris (prov.), 17) Jon Kirby (prov.), 18) Chad Dupont, 19) Jay Brunson, 20) Dewaine Hottinger.
Heat winners (23 entries): Beene, Bagley, Samuels, Virden. B-Main winner: Taylor.

Keenes photography



Wehrs Machine


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Bill Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 09-25-11

Weekend Warriors

Calumet County Fairgrounds "Chilton Fall Invitational" - Russ Scheffler

Russ Scheffler at Calumet Co. Fairgrounds

Billed as "the largest race at the smallest track in Wisconsin", the Calumet Co. "Fall Invitational" played out on Sept. 23-24,  and Russ Scheffler drove his #74 to the win in the event. (Michael Esser)

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box