- June 24 - Hagerstown Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


Three-State Flyers: Covert is First TSF Repeat Winner With Nininger Memorial Triumph

Bob Vores

HAGERSTOWN, Md. - June 24. Jason Covert became the first repeat winner at Hagerstown Speedway on Friday after posting the triumph of the fourth annual "Red Nininger Memorial", the third race of the "Hagerstown/Winchester Shootout". Covert of York Haven, Pa. also became the first repeat winner in the Three State Flyers Dirt Late Model Series, having won Hagerstown’s Bonebrake Tribute a month ago.

Alan Sagi occupied the pole after winning the eight lap dash with D.J. Myers alongside. Sagi, driving with a broken right wrist following an incident the previous week, pulled into the lead while third starting Covert quickly took control of the runner up position.

Sagi continued to hold a second plus advantage over Covert as fifth starting Spence passed Myers on the fourth lap and Jim Bernheisel repeatedly challenged Myers until the caution waved on lap 14 when Jamie Lathroum slowed.

Covert went to the outside on the restart as Sagi led the next lap, but in turn three, Covert made contact with Sagi’s right front as Sagi fought to gather it back in while Spence motored by into the runner up spot.

Covert sped away and was 2.75 seconds ahead and into rear traffic while Sagi was a near equal distance back in third. Covert continued through traffic until arriving at the checkered 2.06 seconds over with three lapped cars back to Sagi.

“I’ll just tell you, I wanted it more than those guys tonight,” Covert said. “Barry and the guys worked their guts out to get this car ready. At nine last night, it didn’t have a body and no motor. All the credit goes to them.”

“Racing Alan is always a pleasure but I got to the outside of him and I needed to get in front of him to get the air off his nose. There was one lane below me but we did get together. It was definitely my fault but we do have roll cages, seat belts and helmets in these things. We’re not trying to crash, but are out there racing on the edge every night. A bad night here is better than a good day at work so I like being here. ”

Jeremy Miller passed Bernheisel for fourth on the final circuit. Kyle Lear, who came from 18th, received the Round Hill Hard Charger award after finishing sixth with Myers ending seventh. Bo Feathers was eighth with Marvin Winters and Nick Dickson completing the top ten.

Heat winners for the 42 entries were Covert, Myers, Spence and Sagi with Steve Axtell Jr. and Jerry Bard taking the two B mains and Sagi winning the dash. Glenn Nininger randomly pulled the number two from the hat and awarded Spence with an additional $100.

Kyle Lear was the Round Hill service Center Hard Charger. 

Hagerstown Speedway Three-State Flyers
1) Jason Covert, 2) J. T. Spence, 3) Alan Sagi, 4) Jeremy Miller, 5) Jim Bernheisel, 6) Kyle Lear, 7) D. J. Myers, 8) Bo Feathers, 9) Marvin Winters, 10) Nick Dickson, 11) Gary Stuhler, 12) Duane Harbaugh, 13) Scott LeBarron, 14) Jack Pencil, 15) Jerry Bard, 16) Wes Bonebrake, 17) Denny Bonebrake, 18) C.S. Fitzgerald, 19) Pete Weaver, 20) Devin Friese, 21) Jamie Lathroum, 22) Dylan Yoder, 23) Steve Axtell, Jr., 24) Brent Smith (42 entries)

Kevin Fisher photo


Wehrs Machine

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 10-02-11


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Billy Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

Weekend Warriors

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box