- June 24 - 24 Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


Dave Eckrich leads Brad Looney before taking a stab at John Anderson's lead on the last lap. He fell short to finish second at 24 Speedway.

(Lloyd Collins)

Anderson Scores MLRA Thriller at 24 Speedway
Dan Robinson

John Anderson VL - Moberly MLRA

John Anderson held off a late charge from Dave Eckrich to post an MLRA win at Moberly, Mo.(Danny Howk - Heartland Motorsports photo)

MOBERLY, Mo. - June 24. Omaha, Nebraska's John Anderson survived a thrilling green-white-checkered finish with Dave Eckrich to win the 30-Lap Lucas Oil MLRA main event at 24 Raceway.

Anderson led the field to the green flag from his pole starting position and quickly proved he was the class of the field with 2009 MLRA Champion Al Purkey following from a distance. The first caution flag of the night flew on lap #15 as Chris Speiker slowed against the wall before retiring.
With the restart, Anderson again quickly checked out on the field, but with an apparent easy victory in sight for Anderson, six-time series Champion Al Purkey suddenly slowed down on the front stretch while running second, also ending his night with just two laps to go. 

Denny Woodworth (#45) put in a strong third place showing at 24 Speedway.

(Lloyd Collins)
Chris Smyser (#25), Terry Phillips (#75), and Jeremy Payne (#74) at Moberly, Missouri's 24 Speedway. (Lloyd Collins)

Evan and J.D. Hubert race for sixth position before finishing sixth and seventh, respectively.

(Lloyd Collins)
Purkey's misfortunes may ultimately having season championship ramifications as Brad Looney increased his point lead over Purkey with his fifth place finish.
As the field took the green flag one last time for the green-white-checkered finish, Dave Eckrich aggressively worked the bottom side of the race track hoping his slide for life would stick in his Barry Wright Race Car, but Anderson screamed across the finish line first capturing the $3,000 win.
NOTES: Anderson's MasterSbilt chassis is powered by a Roush-Yates Racing Engine with sponsorship support from Shop Quik Convenience Stores, Turbo Car Wash, Sunoco Racing Fuel, MarCorp Electric, REM Plastic Racing Products, and F.A.I.T.H. (Friends are in the House Youth Team).
Eric Turner discovered problems after his heat and was a scratch for the night. Chris Smyser broke while leading the B-Main on lap five, bringing out the caution. Ricky Frankel suffered a right rear flat after taking the white flag in the B-Main, ending his night.

Jeremy Payne raced to ninth place at Moberly.

(Lloyd Collins)

MLRA - 24 Speedway - June 24th
(1) John Anderson, (2) Dave Eckrich, (3) Denny Woodworth, (4) Terry Phillips, (5) Brad Looney, (6) Evan Hubert, (7) J.D. Hubert, (8) Joe Kosiski, (9) Jeremy Payne, (10) Rickey Frankel, (11) Justin Asplin, (12) Bill Koons, (13) Chris Spieker, (14) Al Purkey, (15) Andrew Kosiski, (16) Ashley Lancaster, (17) Richard Weber, (18) Alan Vaughn, (19) Sonny Findling, (20) Denny Eckrich.

Heat winners (26 entries): Anderson, Purkey, Joe Kosiski, Looney. B-Main winner: Denny Eckrich.

Lloyd Collins photo

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm


Updated 11/17/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine