- June 19 - Volunteer Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


Dale McDowell was looking like a winner until he encountered mechanical trouble on lap 31 at Bulls Gap.

(Michael Moats) 

Broken McDowell Turns Over "Scorcher II" to Bloomquist

James Essex

BULLS GAP, Tenn. - June 19. Reigning Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series National Champion, Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, Tenn. won his fifth series event of 2010 on Saturday Night at Volunteer Speedway. It was night number two of the Scorcher 100 Presented by Reece Monument Company.  Bloomquist inherited the lead when race leader Dale McDowell broke a bolt in the lift bar on lap 32 after he had led the first 31 laps of the race.  Chris Madden of Gaffney, SC finished second followed by Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, GA; Ray Cook of Brasstown, NC; and Eric Wells of Hazard, KY.

Bloomquist inherited the outside front row of the 50 lap feature event and started alongside McDowell.  Originally, Dan Schlieper, the fast qualifier for the night, was scheduled to start outside of the front row but he had to withdraw from the race after being transported to a local hospital for a medical issue.  


Scott Bloomquist at Volunteer Speedway after his 491st career win. 

(Michael Moats) 

McDowell grabbed the point at the start of the race followed by Bloomquist, Wells, Steve Casebolt and Ray Cook.  Madden started eighth and was making headway early on as he climbed to fifth around Cook on lap two.  Madden was then able to corral Casebolt and pass him on lap four to take over the fourth position. 

Up front, McDowell was setting a blistering pace. By the ninth lap he had already caught the tail-end of the field.  Bloomquist was able to close some ground on McDowell as they had a lapped car between them when the first caution of the race came out on lap eleven for Texas driver, Chris Brown. 

On the restart, Wells looked like he was going to beat Bloomquist into turn for the second spot, but Bloomquist through a slidejob at Wells in turn two to regain the position. 


Chris Madden gets the better of #53 Ray Cook after the start before advancing to his second runner up finish in three days.

(Michael Moats)

McDowell was looking solid as he was seeking his first Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series victory of the year in the Clint Bowyer owned car.  McDowell built a six-car length lead over Bloomquist by lap 23 as more traffic was playing havoc with the frontrunners.  

Bloomquist was able to cut into McDowell’s lead, narrowing it to two lengths with 28 laps scored.  Meanwhile Wells, who had held the third spot from the beginning of the race, dropped two spots in the running order as both Madden and Davenport passed him on lap 28 as he would fall to fifth. 

With 30 laps complete it was still McDowell holding a three-car length margin over Bloomquist, Madden, Davenport and Wells.  McDowell led lap 31, but sparks appeared from the back-end of his car as the bolt in the lift bar broke.


Dan Schlieper set fast time at Bulls Gap, but had to be rushed to a local hospital after experiencing symptoms of high blood pressure. 

(Michael Moats)


Jimmy Owens' ride is looked over after the Friday night winner dumped it into the wall during his qualifying effort. 

(Michael Moats)

Bloomquist picked up the lead of the race with Madden moving into second followed by Davenport, Wells and Casebolt.  With no caution flags on the horizon Bloomquist looked to have clear sailing to the finish line, but again traffic would enter into the equation as Bloomquist was being held up and that would allow both Madden and Davenport to gain on him. 

Bloomquist was able to keep a four-car length advantage over the two in the closing laps as he was able to win without receiving any late race pressure.  For Bloomquist the win was his 22nd series win of his career which ranks him first all-time and he also extended his points lead over Jimmy Owens, who finished 14th after having to run his back-up car after he collided with the backstretch wall in his primary car during time trials. 

In Lucas Oil victory lane for the fifth time this year, Bloomquist scored his first win for his new engine builders, Roush-Yates out of North Carolina.  “No doubt, the engine worked real well tonight, we went home and worked on the car from last night and everything worked great, the track was real good tonight, they worked on it, I saw sparks coming from Dale’s car and I knew he was in trouble, we hadn’t won one here in a while and it was a good points night to go along with the win,” said the 46-year-old Bloomquist who was joined in victory lane by his crew chief, Tommy Hicks. 

“I have to thank Jay Dickens he put this together (the Roush-Yates deal) and they have worked real hard on it, we obviously are pleased so far with the program and hope to get many more wins,” said Bloomquist who drives his own self-designed Bloomquist Race Cars Chassis sponsored by Miller Brothers Construction, Hawkeye Trucking, Sweet Mfg, VP Racing Fuels, Hoosier Tires, Arizona Sport Shirts, Ohlins and Lane Automotive.  The win for Bloomquist was the 491st of his career. 


Lucas Oil Series - Volunteer Speedway - June 19th
1) Scott Bloomquist, 2) Jimmy Owens, 3) Jonathan Davenport, 4) Ray Cook, 5) Eric Wells, 6) Steve Casebolt, 7) Vic Hill, 8) Don O'Neal, 9) Brad Neat, 10) Chris Wall, 11) Shanon Buckingham, 12) Jared Landers, 13) Eric Jacobsen, 14) Jimmy Owens (prov.), 15) John Blankenship (prov.), 16) Mark Vineyard, 17) Earl Pearson, Jr. (prov.), 18) Jeff Maupin, 19) Tyler Reddick, 20) Tim Isenberg, 21) Dale McDowell, 22) Randy Weaver, 23) Michael Smith, 24) Jeff Wolfenbarger, 24) Chris Brown

Fast Time (43 entries): Dan Schlieper (13.525 secs.); Heat winners: McDowell, Wells, Schlieper, Bloomquist; B-Main winners: Vineyard, Jacobsen
George Missita photo


Updated 11/02/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine