- June 19 - Junction Motor Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


NCRA at Junction M/S: Boen Bolts After Berck Blows

David Smith, Jr.

MCCOOL JUNCTION, Neb. - June 19. Former four-time series champion KellyBoen of Henderson, Col. continued his early season victory lane tour as he took advantage of race long leader Kyle Berck’s misfortune to win the O’Reilly/NCRA late model feature finale Saturday at Junction Motor Speedway.

Two time and defending series champion Berck of Marquette, Neb.quickly took the lead at the start of the 30-lap feature with outside front row starter Mike Wiarda settling into the runner up position. Boen made quick work of Wiarda but Berck had quickly opened up a half stretch lead by lap three.

Berck, aboard the Dorothy Lynch Dressing/Strobel Construction sponsored Lazer Chassis, looked to be a man on a mission as he had opened up a half stretch lead by lap 10. However mechanical gremlins would strike when the power plant went expired causing Berck to exit the race with a disappointing 20th place finish.

Boen inherited the lead at that point and set the pace before the first of two cautions fell on lap 13 for a spin.

After the final caution fell on lap 24 to bunch up the field one final time, there was still no catching Boen as he drove his familiar #07 Roadrunner Fabrication/ Peterson Fluid Systems sponsored Rocket chassis to his fifth feature victory of the season.

A strong three way battle for the runner up position waged with around ten laps to go with Wiarda, Travis Dickies and 11th starting Corey Zeitner all battling for the position. While most of the attention was on the battle for second, current series rookie of the year leader Jase Kaser began making his move towards the front. Working the low side on the three-eighths mile oval, 16th starting Kaser dialed in those drivers running second through fourth and coming down for the finish, caught Dickies at the line by a bumper to come home third.

Wiarda would settle for second with Dickies and Zeitner rounding out the top five.

NCRA - Junction Motor Speedway - June 19th
1) Kelly Boen 2) Mike Wiarda 3) Jase Kaser 4) Travis Dickies 5) Corey Zeitner 6) Jason O’Brien 7) Al Humphrey 8) Delbert Smith 9) Greg Larson 10) Andrew Kosiski 11) Joe Kosiski 12) Bo Egge 13) Randy Hull 14) Mike Marushak 15) Brian Bolster 16) Bryant Goldsmith 17) Bill Koons 18) Alanzo Groose 19) Craig Preble 20) Kyle Berck 21) Jerry Warner 22) Wylan Petrie 23) Shawn Harker
Heat Winners (23 entries): Kosiski, Egge, Boen

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm


Updated 11/17/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine