- June 19 - Cedar Lake Speedway by Sam Holbrooks

Brian Birkhofer drivers toward what he thought was a runner up finish, but the news got better later in the evening. (Rick Blewett)









 Celebratus Interruptus: Vaught Light, Birkhofer Next in Line For Cedar Lake "Hell Tour" Win

NEW RICHMOND, Wis. - June 19. On his second night of racing on the "Summernationals Hell Tour" at Cedar Lake Speedway, Will Vaught turned up the heat and raced to an apparent win at the northern Wisconsin facility. The young Missouri ace set fast time, won his heat race, won the pole position in the redraw, and later got the opporunity to do his Victory dance on the CLS winner's podium.

Will Vaught's celebration on the podium turned out to be a bit premature when he was found to be a bit light at the scales a few minutes later. Some drivers questioned the accuracy of the readings, but the decision stood.(Rick Blewett)

After the crowd had made its way to the parking lot and runner up Brian Birkhofer had nosed his #15 mount toward the rear of his hauler, however, Vaught took his car to the scales and came up 11 lbs. short of the required weight and was disqualified. Birkhofer was awarded his first "Hell Tour" and second overall $10,000 win of the season, and the Vaught team was left to figure out where they had miscalculated.

The outcome was also an end to Billy Moyer's domination of the series to date, as the Batesville, Ark. veteran was locked out of Victory - not by Vaught or Birkhofer, but by engine trouble that sidelined him early as he raced at mid-pack.

Another perennial series favorite, Shannon Babb, appeared to be working his way into contention after starting sixth. Babb clamored past Brian Shirley and Ryan Unzicker to take over third and moved in to challenge second running Birkhofer with less than ten laps to go, but with just two to go, Babb was forced to the sidelines with engine woes of his own that helped clear the way for Birkhofer's big payday after Vaught controlled the entire event from the pole position.

Behind Birkhofer, moving up one spot each were an Illinois trio of Shirley, Unzicker, and Jason Feger, with Ohio's Matt Miller taking fifth.

Only half the field finished the 50-lap grind. Conspicuously absent from the final rundown were Jeep Van Wormer, Wendell Wallace, and Billy Moyer, Jr., all of whom failed to transfer through the B-Mains.

Summernationals - Cedar Lake Speedway - June 19th
1) Brian Birkhofer, 2) Brian Shirley, 3) Ryan Unzicker, 4) Jason Feger, 5) Matt Miller, 6) Pat Doar, 7) Dennis Erb, Jr., 8) Brady Smith, 9) Chad Simpson, 10) Bub McCool, 11) Jack Sullivan (prov.), 12) Shannon Babb, 13) Jimmy Mars, 14) Chris Simpson, (15) Mike Nutzmann (prov.), (16) Adam Hensel, (17) Eric Pember, (18) Rodney Melvin, (19) Billy Moyer, 20) Bret Sievert, (21 Will Vaught (disqualified - weight)
Fast time (44 entries): Vaught (13.044 secs.); Heat winners: Vaught, Shirley, Hensel, Birkhofer. B-Main winner: Chad Simpson

Mike Ruefer photo


Updated 11/02/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine