- June 19 - 81 Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


NCRA: McAninch Stops Delbert Smith in "Hoosier Daddy" Thriller at 81 Speedway

David Smith, Jr.

PARK CITY, Kan. - June 21. In one of the closest finishes in series history, Ryan McAninch of Wichita, Kansas retook the lead on the last lap and barely beat veteran Delbert Smith at the finish line to win the thrilling National Championship Racing Association (NCRA) presented by Smiley’s Racing Products Great Plains late model feature finale Sunday at 81 Speedway in Park City as part of the tracks “Hoosier Daddy” NCRA Father’s Day spectacular.  

Earl Kinderknecht started on the pole for the 20-lap feature but it was Shelton, Neb. driver Steve Kempt taking the lead as the green flag fell on the 13 car field. 

Kempt, who came into the night as the early season points leader on the new Great Plains late model region tour, opened up a five car length lead over fourth starting McAninch. Kempt would built his lead to ten car lengths by lap four while further behind the front two drivers, it was Kinderknecht, Seagraves and Smith, who had worked his way into fifth after starting in the seventh position.  

Kempt looked to be cruising along until the first of two cautions flew on lap seven when Rick Leatherman spun to a stop in turns three and four. 

The restart saw McAninch make his move as he worked the top side of the three-eighths mile oval to pull even with the leader down the backstretch and would drive around Kempt in turns three and four to take the lead on lap eight. While this was going on, Smith would take over the third position from Gary Gorby and set his sights on the leaders. 

McAninch had built up a ten car length lead over Kempt before the final caution flew on lap 11 when Dustin Belcher spun. 

The final restart saw Smith begin to make his move as he passed Kempt for the runner up position and began his quest of catching McAninch.  

With five laps to go it was still McAninch by three lengths over Smith, with Gorby and Kempt starting to fade from the two front runners. 

“The Ice Man” got things going down on the bottom of the track and closed to the leader’s rear bumper on lap 17. One lap later he would take over the top spot by making the pass down the front stretch and nosed out in front of McAninch for one full lap. 

On the final lap, Smith worked the top of the cushion in turns three and four with McAninch right behind. As they came down the front stretch to take the checkered flag, McAninch dove underneath and as both drivers came down the front straightaway it was McAninch crossing the finish line by foot over Smith to take the victory. 

“I made a mistake there and lost the lead to Delbert,” said McAninch in victory lane. “Delbert’s been running awful good lately and I really didn’t think I would have the chance to get by him again. I didn’t think the top would work there in three and four but we just happened to get a good run coming off the corner and caught him. There’s so many people to thank in this deal I am afraid I will forget somebody.” 

Gorby, who started ninth, would hold on to finish a strong third while Kempt faded to fourth. Seagraves rounded out the top five.  

June 19 - 81 Speedway NCRA
1. Ryan McAninch 2. Delbert Smith 3. Gary Gorby 4. Steve Kempt 5. Jimmy Seagraves 6. Brad Forney 7. Rick Leatherman 8. William Keeney 9. Wylan Petrie 10. Vince Wagoner 11. Bryan Bolster 12. Earl Kinderknecht 13. Dustin Belcher
Heat winners (13 entries): Kinderknecht, Petrie.


Wehrs Machine

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 10-02-11


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Billy Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

Weekend Warriors

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box