- June 11 - Fayetteville Motor Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


Carolina Clash: Roffers Claims Third Win in Calamitous Fayetteville Outing

Alex Cummings  

FAYETTEVILLE, N.C. - June 4. Luke Roffers continued his winning ways Saturday at Fayetteville Motor Speedway with his third victory of the season. Roffers closed in on early leader Chad Paxton and made the winning pass near the midpoint of the race.  


The current Klotz Lubricants Rookie of the Year points leader Paxton set fast time during XS Power Racing Batteries Qualifying. The pole was Paxton's first of the year with the Carolina Clash.  


Paxton got the jump on the 24-car starting field electing the inside line on the start. A five car breakaway would ensue with Craig Shuffield pulling out all the stops attempting to pass Paxton on the inside during the first nine laps before the first caution waved for debris on the track.  


The same five car breakaway continued, with Roffers making some daring moves, passing cars on the inside making his way to the front. On lap 21, Roffers made his move, passing Paxton in turn three to take over the top spot. In just three laps, Roffers had pulled out to nearly a half-straightaway lead over second place Paxton.  


Lap 21 saw Travis Hair coming to a stop in turn four, bringing out another caution with Roffers leading, Paxton sat in second ahead of Dustin Mitchell, Mike Gault, and Craig Shuffield.  


On the restart, Jeff Smith would spin on the backstretch in a dust storm, bringing out the caution. Then just two short laps later, G.R. Smith and Shawn Beasley made contact and spun in turn one. Both were unable to continue.  


Paxton's night began on a very positive note would end on a bad one. On a lap 27 restart, Paxton spun, collecting Jeff Smith, Mike Parker, and Jay Sessoms. On the restart, Dale Hammond got sideways and Smith drove over his front-end, sending Smith airborne and over the turn two banking. Smith was okay after the incident.  


On the restart, Dustin Mitchell was able to get around Gault for the second position and set his eyes on Roffers. Mitchell caught Roffers on lap 31 and began to apply heavy pressure until a scary lap 37 caution. Kenny Compton, Jr. began smoking on lap 35 and as he came out of turn four on lap 37, his power plant blew up, engulfing his car in a massive fire ball. The Carolina Clash safety crew was there and had the fire out within seconds and Compton, Jr. was okay after the incident.  


On the restart, a massive pileup on the backstretch took out Paxton, who slammed the inside wall head-on before collecting Gary Mabe, Mike Parker, and Michael Mason. All four were brought in on the hook.  


On the restart, Roffers and Mitchell broke away from the field as Gault, who was running the third position began to get a right-rear flat. Gault was able to hold on and finish the race, but went from third to sixth in the last three laps with the flat tire.  


Roffers was able to hold off the hard charging Mitchell for the win. Scott Autry passed seven cars in route to a third place finish. Rookie of the Year Contender, Travis Yow had his best ever finish with the series, crossing the line in the fourth position. Craig Shuffield, who had has best ever qualifying run with the Carolina Clash before starting on the outside pole, raced his way to a fifth place finish.  


With the win, Roffers was able to close the gap to within seven points of Dennis Franklin.  Even with the horrific wreck, Chad Paxton still leads the Klotz Lubricants Rookie of the Year standings by 81 points over Travis Yow. 



June 11 - Fayetteville Motor Speedway Carolina Clash
1) Luke Roffers, 2) Dustin Mitchell, 3) Scott Autry, 4) Travis Yow, 5) Craig Shuffield, 6) Mike Gault, 7) Dennis Franklin, 8) David Taylor, 9) Justin Labonte, 10) Jay Sessoms, 11) Michael Mason, 12) Kenny Compton, Jr., 13) Gary Mabe, 14) Chad Paxton, 15) Mike Parker, 16) Chris Blackwell, 17) Ray Tucker, 18) Dale Hammond, 19) Jeff Smith, 20) Shawn Beasley, 21) G.R. Smith, 22) Travis Hair, 23) Greg Clark, 24) Jim Shuffield
Fast Time (24 entries): Paxton (18.295)


Wehrs Machine


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Bill Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 09-25-11

Weekend Warriors

Calumet County Fairgrounds "Chilton Fall Invitational" - Russ Scheffler

Russ Scheffler at Calumet Co. Fairgrounds

Billed as "the largest race at the smallest track in Wisconsin", the Calumet Co. "Fall Invitational" played out on Sept. 23-24,  and Russ Scheffler drove his #74 to the win in the event. (Michael Esser)

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box