- July 9 - Magnolia Motor Speedway by Sam Holbrooks

Scott Bloomquist at Magnolia Motor Speedway
Lucas Oil Series: Bloomquist Captures "Clash" Cash at Magnolia 
James Essex 
COLUMBUS, Miss. – July 9. Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series National Champion, Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, Tenn. made it three-in-a-row on Saturday as he captured the “Clash at the Mag” at Magnolia Motor Speedway. The win was worth $20,000 to the 47-year-old. Billy Moyer, of Batesville, Ark., finished second, followed by Steve Francis of Ashland, Ky., Earl Pearson, Jr. of Jacksonville, Fla., and Jimmy Owens of Newport, Tenn. 
Chris Brown and Brad Neat at Magnolia Motor Speedway
Continuing as America's best racer that no one knows, Houston's Chris Brown raced as high as second before dropping back to seventh in Columbus.  Brad Neat (outside) finished ninth. (Scott Oglesby)
Steve Francis and Earl Pearson at Magnolia Motor Speedway
Steve Francis (15) preavilaed in a duel for third place with #44 Earl Pearson. (Scott Oglesby)
On the start, Bloomquist bolted to the lead with Shane Clanton in tow. Clanton was the among the first of four different drivers to hold the runner-up spot during the race, but his night ended on lap two as he headed to the pits. 
Chris Brown picked up second until Owens took over the spot. Owens then started to chase down Bloomquist when a caution came out for a slowing Mike Marlar on lap 26. Back under green, Bloomquist pulled away from Owens, who was battling door-to-door with Moyer. On lap 34, Moyer was finally able to clear. By this point Bloomquist had built a commanding lead over the
Billy Moyer and Chris Brown at Columbus
Billy Moyer tackles Chris Brown on his way to second at MMS.(Rick Schwallie)
Stacy Taylor and Brad Neat at Magnolia Motor Speedway
Jacksonville, Ark. racer Stacey Taylor races with Lucas Oil Series regular Brad Neat at MMS. (Rick Schwallie)
field. Moyer was gaining ground on Bloomquist near the halfway mark, with Owens running third, followed by Francis and Pearson, who was up to fifth after starting 19th. 
Over the last quarter of the race, Bloomquist held a comfortable lead. Moyer desperately tried to cut into Bloomquist’ lead, but with three laps to go, Moyer lost his breather on the front stretch, bringing out the final caution on the night. 
Bloomquist kept his lead in the final three circuits as he held off Moyer to take his eighth series win of 2011.  
Chris Wall and Jared Landers at Magnolia Motor Speedway
Chris Wall surveys the damage from a wreck with Arkansas driver Jared Landers. (Scott Oglesby)
In Lucas Oil Victory Lane for the 34th time in his career, Bloomquist complemented the track crew for getting the track in racing condition after the rain. “Johnny Stokes does a great job here, they have fought with the weather the last few days with the rain and heat. The car was just flawless again tonight, I can’t say enough about how well we are running. We gained some more points tonight on Jimmy, he just hasn’t had any problems, and we have had several in the last month. We feel good where we are at right now,” said the winner, who closed to within 15 points of Owens. 
 Bub McCool and Ray Cook at Columbus
Mississippi's own Bub McCool and #53 Ray Cook mix it up back at midfield at Columbus. (Rick Schwallie)

Scott Bloomquist and Eric Cooley at Magnolia Motor Speedway Lucas Oil Dirt Late Model Series

Scott Bloomquist races the top side of Magnolia Motor Speedway to get by Mississippi driver Eric Cooley en route to his 11th special event win of the season. (Scott Oglesby)

July 9 - Lucas Oil Series at Magnolia Motor Speedway
1) Scott Bloomquist, 2) Billy Moyer, 3) Steve Francis, 4) Earl Pearson, Jr., 5) Jimmy Owens, 6) Clint Smith, 7) Chris Brown, 8) Dale McDowell (prov.), 9) Brad Neat (prov.), 10) Don O'Neal (prov.), 11) Tyler Reddick, 12) Ray Cook, 13) Bub McCool (prov.), 14) Will Vaught, 15) Billy Moyer, Jr., 16) Mike Marlar, 17) Eric Cooley, 18) Chris Wall, 19) Stacy Taylor, 20) Jared Landers, 21) Steve Casebolt, 22) Ronny Lee Hollingsworth, 23) Rodney Wing, 24) Chad Thrash, 25) Shane Clanton, 26) Klint Byars
Fast Time (57 entries): Scott Bloomquist (14.909); Heat winners: Bloomquist, Brown, Wall, Hollingsworth, Clanton, Marlar; B-Main winners: Pearson, Byars

Mark Bochiardy photo


Wehrs Machine

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 10-02-11


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Billy Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

Weekend Warriors

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box