- July 6 - Peoria Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


Shannon Babb at Peoria Speedway 0706

Shannon Babb continued to build a head of steam on the Summer Nationals tour with another win at Peoria Speedway Wednesday. (Mike Ruefer)

Scores Peoria Speedway Triumph, Boosts Point Lead

Jeff Adams

PEORIA, Ill. - July 6. Shannon Babb won his third UMP Summernationals race of 2011 and his third career Peoria Speedway Summernationals win Wednesday as the “Hell Tour” rolled through Central Illinois on a hot, muggy summer evening.

Wes Steidinger jumped to the lead from his pole position and immediately dove to the bottom of the race track as second generation driver Scott James of

Shannon Babb - Scott James at Peoria Speedway Summer Nationals

Shannon Babb bttles #81 Scott James in traffic before taking over the lead and racing to he Summer Nationals win at Peoria Speedway. (Drew England)

Lawrenceburg, Ind., began to drive the top of the track. James got a run off turn two on lap four, and took the lead down the backstretch. Babb sat in third, but was pressured heavily by a rim-riding Jeep Van Wormer until Van Wormer jumped the cushion on lap four.

A lap five caution for Jack Sullivan slowed the field, and on the restart Babb began to pressure Steidinger for second. Babb kept poking his nose under Steidinger for the next five laps until he finally got by Larry Reikert-owned car for second on lap 10.

Matt Miller - Jeep Van Wormer at Peoria Speedway

Matt Miller and #55 Jeep Van Wormer race for position before Miller drove his #7 McCullough Motorsports car to third place. (Mike Ruefer)

James began to encounter lapped traffic on lap 15, and Babb began to close the gap. Babb had closed onto James' back bumper by lap 22 and made the pass coming out of turn four on lap 24 as James slid to the middle trying to get by the lapped car of Mike Provenzano. Babb encountered lapped traffic again on lap 33, but James could never make the pass and ended up in second, .488 seconds behind Babb at the checkered flag. Jameswas followed by Matt Miller of Waterville, Oh., Steidinger, and Van Wormer.

  “I had to work the middle there in traffic because the bottom was getting blocked”, said Babb in victory lane. “It’s always easier to be second in those situations in traffic. I was just waiting for my chance. Scott slipped up there a little in 3, and I jumped to the bottom and got by him. I want to thank all of the fans for coming out and supporting us in this heat”

Wes Steidinger and Scott James at Peoria Speedway

While #81 Scott James moved to second place at Peoria, Polesitter West Steidinger slipped, but still drove a solid race to take fourth. (Mike Ruefer)

DirtCar Summer Nationals - Peoria Speedway
1. Shannon Babb, 2. Scott James, 3. Matt Miller, 4. Wes Steidinger, 5. Jeep Van Wormer, 6. Steve Lance Jr., 7. Mike Mullvain, 8. Tim Lance, 9. Kevin Weaver, 10. Jason Feger, 11. Ryan Unzicker (prov.), 12. Dennis Erb Jr. (prov.), 13. Brian Shirley (prov.), 14. Donny Walden, 15. Scott Schmitt, 16. Brandon Sheppard, 17. Mike Spatola, 18. Doug Drown, 19. Mike Provenzano, 20. Todd Bennett (prov.), 21. Rusty Schlenk, 22. Jack Sullivan.
Fast Time (38 entries): Babb (12.712). Heat winners: Van Wormer, Babb, Steidinger, James. B-Main winner: Spatola.
Shannon Babb Hd 

Darrell Unzel photo


Wehrs Machine

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 10-02-11


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Billy Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

Weekend Warriors

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box