- July 3 - Muskingum Co. Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


Lucas Oil Series: Bloomquist Completes Independence Weekend Sweep at Muskingum Co.

James Essex

ZANESVILLE, Oh. – July 3. Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, Tenn. completed the weekend sweep in the State of Ohio for the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series with Sunday’s Bvictory in the "Budweiser 50" event at Muskingum County Speedway. Bloomquist held off Jimmy Owens of Newport, Tenn. and Earl Pearson Jr. of Jacksonville, Fla. for the second night in a row to secure his eighth series win of the season. 
“The car was really great again tonight, it’s great to come to tracks like this that is raceable and you can pass on. There was plenty of passing all night long here, the track was smooth and we could race anywhere on it,” said Bloomquist, who recorded the 33rd LOLMDS win of his career.
“I never saw Jimmy’s nose there at the end so I knew I had it, the traffic was pretty hairy out there, but everyone raced each other clean and I hope the fans enjoyed the show. After the month we have had to win two of these Lucas Oil races in a row against tough competition, I may give the crew a few days off before we head to Columbus (Miss.) next weekend,” said Bloomquist, who now has 510 career victories.
Bloomquist, who started fourth, grabbed the lead from Jared Landers on lap four. Bloomquist held a several second lead over what turned out to be a great battle for second between Owens and Pearson. Owens moved into second on lap 13, taking the spot from Landers, but he fell as much as 12 lengths behind Bloomquist at one point during the race.
In the last ten laps of the race, Owens closed to within a car length on two occasions as Bloomquist was battling heavy lapped traffic. Owens was unable to get a full run on the outside to pass Bloomquist, as Bloomquist held off Owens to cut Owens’ points lead to 70 points
July 3 - Lucas Oil Series at Muskingum Co Speedway
1) Scott Bloomquist, 2) Jimmy Owens, 3) Earl Pearson, Jr., 4) Mike Marlar, 5) Steve Shaver, 6) Don O'Neal, 7) Jared Landers, 8) Donnie Moran, 9) Eddie Carrier, Jr., 10) John Blankenship, 11) Josh McGuire, 12) Ray Cook, 13) Zack Dohm, 14) Dale McDowell, 15) Tim Dohm, 16) Steve Francis (prov.), 17) Bub McCool, 18) Brad Neat (prov.), 19) Jared Hawkins, 20) Tyler Reddick, 21) Devin Moran (prov.), 22) Frank Heckenast, Jr., 23) Cody Parker, 24) Eric Wells (prov.), 25) Steve Casebolt, 26) Todd Brennan (prov.), 27) Doug Dodd
Fast Time (52 entries): Francis (15.826); Heat winners: Owens, Marlar, Landers, Bloomquist. B-main winners: Parker, Casebolt.

Michael Moats photo


Wehrs Machine

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 10-02-11


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Billy Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

Weekend Warriors

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box