- July 3 - Magnolia Motor Speedway by Sam Holbrooks

Chris Wall at Magnolia Motor Speedway PRO Series
At least one fan flipped for Holden, Louisiana's Chris Wall after his PRO Series win on July 4th at Magnolia Motor Speedway in Columbus, Miss.  (Scott Oglesby)  

PRO Series: Wall Tops Triple Crown Finale at Magnolia

by Ben Shelton, midsouth racing

COLUMBUS, Miss. – July 4. Looking to get his program back on track, Chris Wall entered the finale for the Three Crown Nationals at Magnolia Motor Speedway on Monday, and he made a step in that direction by topping the PRO Dirt Car Series-sanctioned event.

After seeing the race, which was originally slated for Sunday night, postponed due to rain that set in during qualifying, the finale for the Three Crown Nationals was held on Monday evening. Due to the reschedule, several of the 37 original entrants were unable to return, but a strong field of 23 cars did return for the reschedule.

Brian Rickman - Johnny Stokes - Rick Rickman

Long time Columbus competitors Brian Rickman (90), Johnny Stokes (1), and Rick Rickman (86) mix it up inside the top ten at Columbus. (Scott Oglesby)

Sulligent, Alabama's Jason Brock earned the pole for the feature event after setting quick time in Southern Belle Pole Qualifying. Brock was joined on the front row for the 40-lap event by Klint Byars, and as the race went green it was Byars, who shot to the lead with Brock, Rodney Wing, Wall, and Neil Baggett in tow.

As Wing worked up to the second spot, Byars set sail from the field, and had a straightaway lead by the time that the event's first caution flag flew on lap 13 for a spinning Chad McCool. At the time of the caution, the top five running order consisted of Wing, Wall, David Breazeale, and Baggett.

David Breazeale and Neil Baggett at MMS

David Breazeale and #21 Neil Baggett spread out at Magnolia Motor Speedway before Breazeale grabbed fifth place. (Scott Oglesby) 

The ensuing restart saw Byars motor away from the field as a three-wide battle began to wage for second. Breazeale briefly took over the spot, but Wing would recover to take over the spot as he began catching Byars. Entering turn three on lap 26, Wing pulled even to the inside of Byars, before seeing his car break loose. Wing's spin brought out the caution, and he was forced to go to the tail of the field.

With the green flag in the air once again, Byars found himself under fire from Wall for the top spot, and exiting turn four on lap 29, Wall took over the lead. Wall went on to claim the win over Byars, Eric Cooley (started 11th), Ronny Lee Hollingsworth, and David Breazeale.

Chris Wall and Klint Byars at Magnolia Motor Speedway

Chris Wall leads Klint Byars to the checkers at MMS. (Scott Oglesby)

The qualifier was won by Eric Cooley.

David Breazeale claimed the Three Crown Nationals title with Chad Thrash, Rodney Wing, Brian Rickman, and Rick Rickman rounding out the top five in the final standings.

July 3 - PRO Series at Magnolia Motor Speedway
1) Chris Wall, 2) Klint Byars, 3) Eric Cooley, 4) Ronny Lee Hollingsworth, 5) David Breazeale, 6) Chad Thrash, 7) Neil Baggett, 8) Brian Rickman, 9) Rick Rickman, 10) Johnny Stokes, 11) Rodney Wing, 12) Jason Brock, 13) Jeremy Shaw, 14) Clay Fisher, 15) Kurt Radojcsics, 16) Tony Shelton, 17) Henry Pullen, 18) Eddie Rickman, 19) Chad McCool, 20) Steven Putney, 21) Kody Barber, 22) Ross Camponovo, 23) Shay Knight
Fast Time (23 entries): Byars, Brock; B-Main winner: Cooley

Rick Schwallie photo


Wehrs Machine


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Bill Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 09-25-11

Weekend Warriors

Calumet County Fairgrounds "Chilton Fall Invitational" - Russ Scheffler

Russ Scheffler at Calumet Co. Fairgrounds

Billed as "the largest race at the smallest track in Wisconsin", the Calumet Co. "Fall Invitational" played out on Sept. 23-24,  and Russ Scheffler drove his #74 to the win in the event. (Michael Esser)

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box