- July 3 - I-55 Raceway by Sam Holbrooks

An unfortunate rendezvous between Jason Feger and #18 Shannon Babb proved to be a setback for them in "Hell Tour" points, and a bonus for points leader Dennis Erb, Jr. (Drew England)

DIRTcar Summer Nationals: Moyer Masters I-55 for Sixth Tour Win

Kellen Burns

PEVELY, Mo. - July 3. Billy Moyer is making things look relatively easy, as he did once again Saturday at I-55 Raceway, the 18th stop of the 2010 DIRTcar Summer Nationals.

The hall of fame driver was challenged throughout the event, but proved to be too much leading all 40 laps to claim his sixth tour win in 2010. The victory

Will Vaught raced to second place at I-55. (Drew England)
earned the Batesville, Ark., native his second win worth $10,000 on the grueling month long tour.

Will Vaught of Crane, Mo., shared the front row at the start and was Moyer's main challenger over the course of 40 laps and wound up second.  Brian Birkhofer of Muscatine, Iowa, came to the line third ahead of Moyer's son Billy Moyer Jr. Defending Hell Tour champion and current series point leader Dennis Erb Jr. of Carpentersville, Ill., rallied from tenth to finish fifth.

Erb's position was greatly enhanced by a lap seven incident that saw Jason Feger spin and nearly flip his race car, Babb's #18 spun up under Feger's mount and took on race-ending damage, while Feger would continue to finish 15th. 

Billy Moyer at I-55 Raceway.

(Drew England)








July 3 - Summer Nationals - I-55 Raceway
(1) Billy Moyer, (2) Will Vaught, (3) Brian Birkhofer, (4) Billy Moyer Jr., (5) Dennis Erb Jr., (6) Scott James, (7) Ryan Unzicker, (8) Jimmy Mars, (9) Jeep Van Wormer, (10) Brian Shirley, (11) Michael Kloos, (12) Jeff Johns, (13) Mark Voigt, (14) Craig Smith, (15) Jason Feger, (16)Bryan Collins, (17) Nick Lyons, (18) Ron McQuerry, (19) Dave Jumper, (20) Wendell Wallace, (21) Brandon Sheppard, (22) Rodney Melvin, (23) Jack Sullivan, (24) Shannon Babb.  Fast Qualifier (37 entries): Moyer (12.972 secs.)

     Heat winners (43 entries):       B-Main winner:       Provisionals

Billy Moyer - Summernationals winner at I-55 Raceway

Jim Denhamer photo










LMA t-shirts 2010 sm


Updated 11/17/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine