- July 31 - Lake Cumberland Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


NASRA:Lincoln Leadfoot” Lee Lands Lake Cumberland Win

Michael Despain 

BURNSIDE, Ky. - July 31. The NASRA Late Model Series visited Lake Cumberland Speedway on Saturday for the "NASRA Blowout", and Victor Lee of Danville, Ky. made a late race pass on Mike Marlar to pick up a $3,000 payday at the 3/8-mile Brandon Hardgrove-promoted clay oval. 

Wayne Chinn led the first lap ahead of Justin Rattliff, Marlar, Johnny Wheeler, and Lee, before the first caution on lap three for a spinning Mark Walters, whose car became lodged on top of the concrete barrier on the inside of the back chute. 

After action resumed, Lee went to fourth, with David Webb moving to fifth.  Lap seven saw a spin by Chase McWhorter, and as the race got back under way, Chinn got heat from Marlar and Rattliff, who nosed out in front before Marlar made a power move on lap eight, driving by both Chinn and Rattliff to take the race lead.  Chinn saw his night end when he slowed and pitted on lap ten. 

As Marlar race in front of a battle for second between Rattliff and Lee, 17th starting Michael Chilton was charging his way through the field and made his way into the top five on lap 13.  As the race neared the halfway mark, Chilton continued his charge to take fourth from Skylar Marlar on lap 19.

Lee turned up the wick on Rattliff and took the runner-up slot on lap 22, while Chilton drove past Rattliff for third on lap 28. 

The final caution of the event waved on lap 31 when Daniel Shelton spun, erasing Marlar’s lead. Chilton’s hard charge ended during the caution when he pulled his mount pitside with an oil leak. 

Lee dogged Marlar on the restart while Skylar Marlar and Aaron Ridley renewed a side-by-side battle for the fourth position.  On lap 37, Marlar pushed off of turn two, opening the door for Lee to grab the race lead and pull away over the final three laps to take the $3,000 payday.

Mike Marlar would settle for second, with Skylar Marlar making a last lap pass of Rattliff for third, and Ridley completing the top five. 


NASRA Blowout - Lake Cumberland Speedway
1) Victor Lee, 2) Mike Marlar, 3) Skylar Marlar, 4) Justin Rattliff, 5) Aaron Ridley, 6) Todd Coffman, 7) Johnny Wheeler, 8) Chase McWhorter, 9) David Webb, 10) Arnie Fields, 11) Gary Yeager, 12) Greg Hansford, 13) Mark Walters, 14) Daniel Shelton, 15) Michael Chilton, 16) Joe Patrick, 17) Nick Claborn, 18) Wayne Chinn, 19) Mike Strunk
Fast Time (20 entries): Mike Marlar (13.158 secs.); Heat winners: M. Marlar, Rattliff, Chinn.


Updated 11/02/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine