- July 30 - Utica-Rome Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


Lucas Oil Series: Bloomquist Runs Down Cook For Uitca-Rome Victory

By James Essex

VERNON,N.Y. - July 29. Defending series champion Scott Bloomquist of withstood a one-lap shootout with Ray Cook to win his sixth Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series event of the season Thursday at Utica-Rome Speedway.  Bloomquist earned $10,000 for the 492nd win of his career. Cook, last year’s series winner at the track, finished second after starting ninth. 18th starting Dale McDowell finished third.

Scott Bloomquist - Utica-Rome World of Outlaws winner 

Rick Schwallie photo

“Here tonight, the car was about as perfect as it gets,” exclaimed the 46-year-old driver, “Last year, after the American Racer tires beat us, Hoosier went to work and had a great tire for us tonight. I wasn’t really nervous on that last restart, because I knew Ray would run me clean. It would have been a shame to lose the race on the last lap after the night we had”.

Bloomquist dominated the field for a majority of the race. He already held nearly a half-lap lead over Cook when the caution came out with seven laps to go.  Bloomquist then had to be patient through two more cautions in the final two circuits, setting up a one-lap dash to the finish. As Cook tried valiantly to steal the win, Bloomquist was able to outrun the #53 into turn one on the final lap and score the win

The win extended Bloomquist's series points lead over Jimmy Owens, whose engine erupted in flames after the fuel line came off on lap ten while Owens was running second, ending his night in last place.

“I have to thank Bob and Barb Miller, Miller Brothers Construction, Hawkeye Trucking, of course the Roush-Yates Engine ran superb,  and all the crew, Tommy (Hicks) and everybody else,” said the winner. “They [crew] do a great job, and with the tough competition on this series you have to be on top of your game night in and night out to stay up front. We gained a lot of points tonight on Jimmy and we look forward to coming back up here. This is a very good race track and the fans treated us just super”.  

Cook in the D&R Racing owned MasterSbilt, captured the win at Utica-Rome a year ago, but could not quite overcome his ninth starting spot as he crossed the line behind Bloomquist.  McDowell in the Clint Bowyer Racing, Dollar General sponsored Warrior Impala SS salvaged a credible night after the battery lost power in his car during the heat race. He was relegated to an outside ninth-row starting spot and came home third.

Lucas Oil Series - Utica-Rome Speedway
1) Scott Bloomquist, 2) Ray Cook, 3) Dale McDowell, 4) Earl Pearson, Jr., 5) John Blankenship, 6) Billy Decker, 7) Steve Casebolt, 8) Don O'Neal, 9) Tyler Reddick, 10) Tim Isenberg, 11) Brad Neat, 12) Dylan Yoder, 13) Tim Devendorf, 14) Dan Schlieper, 15) Vic Coffey, 16) Joseph August, 17) Chris Wall, 18) Daniel Stone, 19) Dale Caswell, 20) James Cornell, 21) Jon Rohacevich, 22) Jimmy Owens, 23) David Zona, 24) Eric Wells
Fast Time: Bloomquist (26 entries); Bloomquist, Pearson, Blankenship; B-Main winner: Schlieper

Jimmy Dearing photo

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm


Updated 11/17/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine