- July 2 - West Plains Motor Speedway by Sam Holbrooks

Wendell Wallace at West Plains MO 
On day two of the MARS/CCSDS even at West Plains, veteran Wendell Wallace came roaring back to the Missouri speedway to capture Saturday's co-sanctioned win. (Ron Mitchell)

MARS/CCSDS: Wallace Snatches Late Lead From Floyd For West Plains Win

Brian Garrison

West Plains, Mo. - July 2.  Winning at one of his favorite tracks, Wendell Wallace of Batesville, Ark. stole the lead from race long leader Jeff Floyd of Walnut Ridge, Ark. with two laps remaining for a $3,000 victory.

Wallace started sixth in the 40 lap feature and picked up the win in night two of the three race "Firecracker Shootout" co-sanctioned by the MARS DIRTcar Series and the Comp Cams Super Dirt Series. R.C. Whitwell of Tucson, Arizona took top honors on night one.

Bill Frye and Kyle Beard at West Plains Motor Speedway

Bill Frye works on #86 Kyle Beard before moving to fifth at West Plains. (Ron Mitchell)

Stacy Taylor and West Plains Motor Speedway

Jacksonville, Arkansas' Stacy Taylor hooks up for a third place run at West Plains. (Ron Mitchell)

Floyd, who started outside the front row and got the jump on pole sitter Dustin Mooneyham of Aurora, Mo., settled for second while Stacy Taylor of Jacksonville, AR was third. R.C. Whitwell was fourth after winning a B-Main and moving from deep in the field, and Bill Frye of Greenbrier, Ark. was fifth. 

Jeff Floyd and Wendell Wallace at West Plains Motor Speedway

Jeff Floyd tries to regain his lost lead from #88 Wendell Wallace in the final circuits of the MARS/CCSDS santioned final at West Plains Motor Speedway.  (Ron Mitchell)

July 2 - MARS/CCSDS at West Plains Motor Speedway
1) Wendell Wallace, 2) Jeff Floyd, 3) Stacy Taylor, 4) R.C. Whitwell, 5) Bill Frye, 6) Todd Hall, 7) Dane Dacus, 8) Jeremy Payne, 9) Ian Samuel, 10) Jon Kirby, 11) Dewaine Hottinger, 12) Jon Mitchell, 13) Brad Looney, 14) Johnny Virden (prov.), 15) Raymond Merrill, 16) Terry Phillips, 17) Justin Wells, 18) Tony Jackson, Jr., 19) Kyle Beard (prov.), 20) Dustin Mooneyham, 21) Jesse Stovall (prov.),22) Brandon McCormick (prov.)
Heat winners (28 entries): Frye, Mooneyham, Samuel, Floyd; B-Main winners: Whitwell, Payne.

Ron Mitchell photo 








Wehrs Machine


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Bill Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 09-25-11

Weekend Warriors

Calumet County Fairgrounds "Chilton Fall Invitational" - Russ Scheffler

Russ Scheffler at Calumet Co. Fairgrounds

Billed as "the largest race at the smallest track in Wisconsin", the Calumet Co. "Fall Invitational" played out on Sept. 23-24,  and Russ Scheffler drove his #74 to the win in the event. (Michael Esser)

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box