- July 2 - Tyler County Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


UFO: Miley Captures "Earl Hill Memorial" at Tyler County

Track report

MIDDLEBOURNE, W.V. - July 2. Mother Nature was kind enough to leave off the wet stuff, but she turned up the heat instead. The hot afternoon gave way to some hot action on the quarter-mile bullring at Tyler County Speedway, and Jared Miley took advantage of tire problems with some early front runners to race to the "Earl Hill Memorial" win.

Steve Wilmoth led Corey Conley, Miley, Robbie Scott, and Paul Wilmoth to turn one. The first of many yellows flags for flat left rear tires came out on lap three for Keith Barbara, and caution returned on lap five when Mike Benedum spun with the assistance of Jacob Hawkins. Both went to the tail. On lap six the yellow waved for Paul Wilmoth, who also suffered a flat right rear tire.

Up front, Steve Wilmoth was still in command, but Scott began to apply pressure and pulled even with him on lap eight. On lap 12, Scott made a successful bid for the lead, but the caution came out for Jacob Hawkins with a flat left rear tire. Wilmoth got the point back, but while under yellow he suffered a flat left rear, giving the lead to Scott.

The tire woes would continue as Scott suffered a flat left rear on lap 13, causing yet another stoppage and giving Miley the point. The race stayed green until lap 21 when Danny Mitchell and Barbara got hooked together on the front straight. The top five then consisted of Miley, Corey Conley, Jared Hawkins, Butch McGill, and Steve Weigle, and the top four remained the same as Devin Friese entered the top five by the half way mark.

The next caution came out on lap 29 when D.J. Cline slowed, then the race would see it’s longest green stretch as it remained on go until lap 42, when Greg Baumberger exploded a left rear tire. The remaining circuits were unencumbered as Miley collected the $4,000 check. Conley, Jared Hawkins, McGill and Friese filled out the top five.

July 2 - Tyler County Speedway UFO
1) Jared Miley, 2) Corey Conley, 3) Jared Hawkins, 4) Butch McGill, 5) Devin Friese, 6) Steve Weigle, 7) Steve Wilmoth, 8) Mike Benedum, 9) Donnie Dotson, 10) Quinton Wyandt, 11) Dannie Ruza, 12) Greg Baumberger, 13) Dusty Hamrick, 14) D.J. Cline, 15) Jacob Hawkins, 16) Danny Mitchell, 17) Keith Barbara, 18) Robbie Scott, 19) Chad McClellen, 20) Ricky Williams, 21) Bobby Hill, 22) Paul Wilmoth Jr
Heat winners (33 entries); McGill, S. Wilmoth, Friese, P. Wilmoth. Consolation winners; Jacob Hawkins, Williams.


Wehrs Machine

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 10-02-11


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Billy Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

Weekend Warriors

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box