- July 2 - Portsmouth Raceway Park by Sam Holbrooks

Lucas Oil Series: Bloomquist Bck On Top With Independence Weekend Win at Portsmouth
James Essex
PORTSMOUTH, Oh. July 2. Scott Bloomquist returned to Lucas Oil Victory lane tonight at the Independence 50. Shaking off a month of frustrating finishes on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series tour, two-time series champion Bloomquist, of Mooresburg, Tenn., dominated all 50-laps at Portsmouth Raceway Park in front of the largest crowd of spectators recorded at the famed speed plant.
Bloomquist sped away from series points’ leader, Jimmy Owens in a four-lap dash to the finish after a late race caution. Earl Pearson Jr. of Jacksonville, FL finished third followed by Tim Dohm of Cross Lanes, WV and John Blankenship of Williamson, WV.
“It sure feels good to get back to victory lane! W have torn up more stuff in the last month than I think I have in the last five years,” said the 47-year-old Hall of Famer, whose victory was his sixth of the season on the series tour, but his first since late April.
“I saw Jimmy’s number on the scoreboard running in second before that last restart, I knew I had a better car than him tonight, he’s been pretty strong here lately, but our car was solid here tonight. We’ve always liked coming here to Portsmouth to race, and to win in front of this giant crowd is very satisfying.” Said Bloomquist who still trails Owens in the championship point’s standings.
Bloomquist grabbed the lead from the drop of the green and built a sizable lead up until the first caution of the race on lap ten. On the restart Bloomquist led Pearson and Owens as Pearson stayed close to Bloomquist for a couple of circuits until Bloomquist pulled away.
Bloomquist was in control of the race until a caution with four laps to go allowed Owens and Pearson to take a shot at beating Bloomquist. Owens had regained the second spot from Pearson a lap before the caution flag. In the end, Bloomquist bolted away from Owens to pick up the $10,000 victory.
Bloomqsuit was behind the wheel of his Base Racing Fuels, Ohlins Shocks, Miller Brothers Construction, Roush-Yates, Bloomquist Race Cars Ford. It was his 32nd Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series win, which is first all-time.
Owens took second in the Mike Reece,Reece Monument Company, Bloomquist Ford, followed by Pearson in the Bobby Labonte, Lucas Oil, Longhorn Dodge.
A great battle for fourth had Tim Dohm taking the spot in his Dohm Cycle Sales, Rocket Chevrolet, who just edged out John Blankenship in the Coal: Amerca’s Energy, Rocket Chevrolet.
July 2 - Lucas Oil Series at Portsmouth Raceway Park
1) Scott Bloomquist, 2) Jimmy Owens, 3) Earl Pearson, Jr., 4) Tim Dohm, 5) John Blankenship, 6) Bub McCool, 7) Steve Shaver, 8) Don O'Neal, 9) Dale McDowell, 19) Brad Neat (prov.), 11) Jared Landers, 12) Mike Marlar, 13) Eddie Carrier, Jr., 14) Steve Francis (prov.), 15) Tyler Reddick (prov.), 16) Jason Montgomery, 17) Ray Cook, 18) Chris Wilson, 19) Frank Heckenast, Jr., 20) Donnie Moran, 21) Chris Wall, 22) R.J. Conley (prov.), 23) Chad Smith, 24) Eric Wells (prov.), 25) Steve Casebolt, 26) Josh McGuire, 27) Doug Drown
Fast Time (49 entries) Scott Bloomquist (15.454); Heat winners: Bloomquist, Owens, Shaver, Montgomery; B-Main winners: Marlar, Drown

Michael Moats photo


Wehrs Machine

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 10-02-11


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Billy Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

Weekend Warriors

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box