- July 2 - Adams County Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


ACS Challenge drivers

Travis Dickes (21), Al Purkey (33), and John Hampel (2) in preliminary action as three different midwestern tours came together for the annual "Adams County Challenge" over Independence Weekend. (Lloyd Collins)

MLRA/NCRA/Cornbelt Clash: Simpson Dominates at Adams County 

Ashley Barry and David Smith, Jr.

CORNING, Ia. - July 2. Taking advantage of a well-prepared track, Chad Simpson of Mt. Vernon, Iowa took the lead at the start and never looked back in claiming his second career series victory as the National Championship Racing Association (NCRA) joined forces with the DART Corn Belt Clash and the Lucas Oil MLRA in an invasion of Adams County Speedway on Saturday.

Tim Isenberg and Justin Mitchell at Adams County Speedway

Wisconsin driver Tim Isenberg claimed the runner up spot at the finish after dueling #28 Justin Mitchell and others. Mitchell checkered in fourth place at Adams County. (Mike Ruefer)

Denny Eckrich and Kyle Berck at Adams County Speedway

Midwestern powerhouses Denny Eckrich and #14 Kyle Berck were relegated to also ran status as they battled at mid-pack at Adams County. (Mike Ruefer) 

By virtue of picking up the victory in his heat race and earning the most passing points, Chad Simpson, driving the Brinkman Motorsports Liebe Trucking/GATR Volvo GMC/Five Star Shop Service Masterbuilt chassis, started on the pole for the 30-lap feature and went on to claim the $3000 victory. He took top honors at this inaugural event last season as well. 

Tim Isenberg of Marshfield, Wis. crossed the line second while John Hampel, Justin Mitchell and Jason Rauen rounded out the top five.   

The tour now join forces with the series Great Plains late model region and head to Belleville High Banks in Belleville, Kansas in a $2500 to win event atop the big fairgrounds half mile oval.

Chad Simpson at Adams County Speedway Victory Lane

Chad Simpson takes up a familiar pose at Adams County. (Lloyd Collins) 

MLRA/NCRA/Cornbelt Clash at Adams Co. Speedway
1. Chad Simpson, 2. Tim Isenberg, 3. John Hampel, 4. Justin Mitchell , 5. Jason Rauen, 6. Chris Simpson, 7. John Anderson, 8. Bryant Goldsmith, 9. Travis Dickes, 10. Denny Eckrich, 11. Mike Wiarda, 12. Joe Kosiski , 13. Al Purkey, 14. Kyle Berck, 18. Dave Eckrich, 19. Chris Spieker, 20. Bill Koons, 21. Jake Meier , 22. Jason O'Brien, 23. Trenton Jackson, 24. Dean Moore, 25. Kurt Kile, 26. Joe Walkenhorst.
Heat winners (41 entries): Chad Simpson, Denny Eckrich, Anderson, Isenberg, Koons; B-Feature winners: Purkey, Saither

Ron Mitchell photo 


Wehrs Machine


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Bill Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 09-25-11

Weekend Warriors

Calumet County Fairgrounds "Chilton Fall Invitational" - Russ Scheffler

Russ Scheffler at Calumet Co. Fairgrounds

Billed as "the largest race at the smallest track in Wisconsin", the Calumet Co. "Fall Invitational" played out on Sept. 23-24,  and Russ Scheffler drove his #74 to the win in the event. (Michael Esser)

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box