- July 27 - Fonda Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


Lucas Oil Series: Lucas Star Bucks Coffey Charge In Fonda Fracas

James Essex

FONDA, N.Y. - July 27. Jimmy Owens of Newport, Tenn. took the lead with ten laps to go and then held off a late charge from local favorite Vic Coffey to win the first ever LOLMDS sanctioned event at Fonda Speedway. The win marked Owens’ 20th victory in Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series competition ever. Coffey, of Caledonia, N.Y. kept the home state fans on their feet by finishing second after starting eighth.

Jimmy Owens - Fonda Speedway Lucas Oil Series winner

Lloyd Collins photo

“Man I didn’t know at the start if we picked the right tires or not, we dropped back to sixth after starting on the front row, but I have to thank Vic Coffey for showing me that outside line,” exclaimed Owens. “I was able to get the momentum I needed up there and once we caught up to O’Neal and passed him, the car was awesome,” said the 38-year-old driver in Lucas Oil Victory Lane for the 20th time in his career.  

The event was the first Late Model Race at Fonda Speedway since 1982 and did not lack any excitement.  Don O’Neal bolted to the lead and led the first 39 laps of the race. He held off challenges from both Billy Decker and Dale McDowell early on. Owens managed to make a late-race run to grab his second consecutive series win. 

Coffey, started eighth and put on a late charge. He passed O’Neal for second with four laps to go. O’Neal had the strongest car for most of the race as he had to fight off a late-race charge from Bloomquist, who placed a close fourth. Decker gave the home state fans a thrill early on. He was constantly challenging O’Neal for the lead in the early going before fading to fifth.

July 27 - Lucas Oil Series - 23 cars
1) Jimmy Owens, 2) Vic Coffey, 3) Don O'Neal, 4) Scott Bloomquist, 5) Billy Decker, 6) Earl Pearson, Jr., 7) Dale
McDowell, 8) Ray Cook, 9) Daniel Stone, 10) John Blankenship, 11) Steve Casebolt, 12) Tim Isenberg, 13) Brad Neat, 14) Eric Wells, 15) Jon Rohacevich, 16) Dale Caswell, 17) Tyler Reddick, 18) Larry Wight, 19) David Zona, 20) Justin Wright, 21) Dan Schlieper, 22) Chris Wall, 23) James Cornell

Fast Time: O’Neal (18,427);  Heat winners: O’Neal, Owens, Decker.  B-Main: Caswell

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm


Updated 11/17/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine