- July 25 - North Georgia Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


North Georgia Speedway - Ronnie Johnson - SRRS Winner

Ronnie Johnson and "support staff" at North Georgia. (Connie Putnam) 

SRRS: Johnson Takes Third Series Win at North Georgia

Janet Sandrell

CHATSWORTH, Ga. - July 24. Timmy Millwood and Tom Peters of North Georgia Speedway welcomed the PPM Race Products Southern Regional Racing Series Super Late Model Series (SRRS) to their facility. With 32 top drivers representing five states registered in for the 40 lap, $3,000 to win feature race, Ronnie Johnson capitalized on Randy Weaver's mechanical misfortunes to claim the win. 

Weaver quickly took the lead on the start of the race and held on as fourth starting Johnson moved up and challenge him for the lead, but it was a broken racecar that would retire Weaver for the night. Johnson led the rest of the 40 laps to take the checkered and the $3,000 jackpot. Second place went to Riley Hickman, who raced from 14th place.  Hickman was followed by Derek Ellis (Chatsworth, Ga.), Skip Arp (Georgetown, Tenn.) and Brandon Kinzer (Allen, Ky.).

 Fast qualifier for the night was Weaver, of Crossville, Tenn., with a 12.89 lap time. This would secure Weaver the inside pole starting position for the main event. The rest of the top nine qualifiers that would lock into the feature were David Payne, Kevin Gibson (Ringgold, Ga.), Ronnie Johnson (Chattanooga, Tenn.), Skip Arp (Georgetown, Tenn.), Bobby Giffin (Maryville, Tenn.), Dusty Carver (Englewood, Tenn.), Brad Coffey (Maryville, Tenn.), Gary McPherson (Dalton, Ga.).


Ronnie Johnson July 24 - SRRS - North Georgia Speedway
1) Ronnie Johnson, 2) Riley Hickman, 3) Derek Ellis, 4) Skip Arp, 5) Brandon Kinzer, 6) Jay Brinkley, (7) Kevin Gibson, 8) Brad Coffey, 9) Chris Brown, 10) Anthony Burroughs, 11) Gary McPherson, 12) Bobby Mayse, 13) Shawn Chastain, 14) Mike Weeks, 15) Josh Putnam, 16) Jacob Grizzle (prov.), 17) Tony Morris (prov.), 18) Brett Wyatt, 19) Todd Morrow, 20) Randy Weaver, 21) David Payne, 22) Gabe Wilson, 23) Dusty Carver, 24) Bobby Giffin.
Fast Time (32 entries): Weaver (12.89 secs.); Heat winners: Ellis, Kinzer, Putnam
Thomas Hendrickson photo 

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm


Updated 11/17/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine