- July 21 - Macon Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


Shannon Babb VL at Macon Speedway Summer Nationals

Shannon Babb at Mcon Speedway. (Jimmy Dearing)

DirtCar Summer Nationals: Babb's "Herald & Review" Win Icing On the Cake

MACON, Ill. - July 21. Shannon Babb has earned his title by a landslide for the 2011 DIRTcar Summer Nationals" tour, but his win streak continued through Thursday's previously rained out "Herald & Review" at Macon Speedway. Babb returned to his "home" track for his sixth straight win on the tour.

Starting seventh of the 100-lap grind, Babb took his time, advancing toward the front before getting by leader Brandon Sheppard after a late caution on lap 87.

Brian Shirley had hopes of winning one trophy on the 2011 tour when he started on the pole spot and took over the lead from Jack Sullivan on the second lap. With a caution on lap 39, however, Babb and Sheppard were poised to make a run at their fellow Illois racer. Shirley, driving a Tim Lance car, found himself on the top side of a three-wide configuration with Babb and Sheppard, who drove past on the low side to become the race's third leader.

Sheppard was able to keep Babb at bay until the race's fourth caution flew. Babb turned up the heat and made the winning pass with 13 laps to go. Sheppard hung on to second to finish ahead of Shirley and perennial Summer Nationals competitors Jason Feger and Dennis Erb, Jr.

Shannon Babb and Brandon Sheppard at Macon Speedway

Shannon Babb is challenged on the inside by Brandon Sheppard as the pair race by Tim Lance at Macon Speedway. (Jimmy Dearing)

July 21 - Macon Speedway Summer Nationals (makeup) - Herald & Review 100
1) Shannon Babb, 2) Brandon Sheppard, 3) Brian Shirley, 4) Jason Feger, 5) Dennis Erb, 6) Ryan Unzicker, 7) Steve Sheppard, 8) Frankie Martin, 9) Donny Walden, 10) Chris Dick, 11) Tim Lance, 12) Matt Taylor, 13) Mike Spatola, 14) Brian Diveley, 15) Cory Daugherty, 16) Jack Sullivan, 17) Don Cisco, 18) Kyle Logue, 19) Kevin Weaver, 20) Terry Reed, 21) Mark Voigt, 22) Rodney Standerfer
Heat winners (31 entries): Walden: Sullivan, Sheppard, Shirley

Jim Denhamer photo


Wehrs Machine

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 10-02-11


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Billy Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

Weekend Warriors

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box