- July 1 - West Plains Motor Speedway (CCSDS) by Sam Holbrooks

R.C. Whitwell and Wendell Wallace

Tucson's R.C. Whitwell passed Wendell Wallace (outside) on lap 15 of a 25-lap main event to win Friday's MARS/CCSDS victory at West Plains, Mo. (Ron Mitchell)

MARS/CCSDS: Whitwell Gets First at West Plains
Brian Garrison
WEST PLAINS, Mo. - July 1. MARS Rookie of the Year contender, R.C. Whitwell of Tucson, Arizona picked up his first ever MARS DIRTcar Series win at West Plains Motor Speedway Friday. Racing his Steve Rushin owned #96, Whitwell picked up $2,500 for his efforts in a race co-sanctioned with the Comp Cams Super Dirt Series.
Terry Phillips and Jeremy Payne at West Plains Motor Speedway
Terry Phillips races past teammate Jeremy Payne (74) on his way to third place on the first of two nights of racing at West Plains. (Ron Mitchell)
Whitwell started on the front row for the 25-lap feature and to the outside of Wendell Wallace of Batesville, Ark. Wallace took the lead on the start and looked to have the race under control, but Whitwell worked the slick surface of the West Plains Motor Speedway to perfection and reeled Wallace in, making the pass on lap 15.
Stacy Taylor and Johnny Virden at West Plains Motor Speedway
Arkansas veterans Stacy Taylor and #1 Johnny Virden raced to fourth and fifth place respectively at West Plains. (Ron Mitchell)
Wallace would have to settle for second place, while Terry Phillips of Springfield, Mo.; Stacy Taylor of Jacksonville, Ark.; and Johnny Virden of Russellville, Ark. rounded out the top five.
July 1 - MARS/CCSDS at West Plains Motor Speedway
1) R.C. Whitwell, 2) Wendell Wallace, 3) Terry Phillips, 4) Stacy Taylor, 5) Johnny Virden, 6) Justin Wells, 7) Kyle Beard, 8) Jeff Floyd, 9) Jeremy Payne, 10) Brandon Smith, 11) Todd Hall, 12) Bill Frye, 13) Brad Looney, 14) Jon Kirby, 15) Eric Turner, 16) Raymond Merrill, 17) Jon Mitchell (prov.), 18) Tony Jackson, Jr. (prov.), 19) Dewaine Hottinger, 20) Dane Dacus, 21) Ian Samuel (prov.), 22) Jesse Stovall (prov.)
Heat winners (28 entries): Turner, Wallace, Whitwell, Turner; B-Main winners: Dacus, Hall

Ron Mitchell photo 


Wehrs Machine

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 10-02-11


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Billy Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

Weekend Warriors

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box