- July 19 - East Alabama Motor Speedway by Sam Holbrooks

Casey Roberts at East Alabama Motor Speedway Southern Nationals 
Casey Roberts and better half after his first Southern Nationals win of the season at East Alabama Motor Speedway. (Brian McLeod)

Southern Nationals: Roberts Prevails as Davenport Bit Again

Series Report

PHENIX CITY, Ala. - July 19. Casey Roberts became the sixth different winner in as many races on the Schaeffer Oil Southern Nationals tour Tuesday at the East Alabama Motor Speedway.

After timing in fourth quickest during the qualifying session, Roberts quickly moved up into the second position and set his sights on leader Jonathan Davenport. He was able to capitalize and grab the top spot when Davenport's right rear tire went flat on lap 30. He went on to claim the $3,500 payday by beating Tony Knowles, Chris Madden, Jonathan Davenport, and Ty Dillon to the checkers.

Polesitter Davenport jumped out into the lead on lap one while fellow front row starter Chris Madden slid back to fifth early in the race. Dennis Franklin experienced terminal motor issues on lap six and pulled off, while Brent Dixon went up in smoke to bring out the race's first caution on the 21st circuit.

Davenport appeared to have the race under control until he blew a right rear tire on lap 30. Roberts assumed the top spot and went on to capture his sixth career Schaeffer Oil Southern Nationals Series triumph. Davenport; meanwhile, restarted on the tail end of the lead lap cars and salvaged a fourth place finish.

Phillip Pittman barrel-rolled his #3 entry several times after heading over the turn three banking in his consolation race. He emerged unharmed from the incident, but did not start the main event.

The Southern Nationals Series will take a day off on Wednesday before heading to the Volunteer State of Tennessee for a trio of shows at Cleveland, Bulls Gap, and Tazewell.

July 19 - East Alabama Motor Speedway Southern Nationals
1) Casey Roberts, 2) Tony Knowles, 3) Chris Madden, 4) Jonathan Davenport, 5) Ty Dillon, 6) Chip Brindle, 7) Johnny Pursley, 8) Tyler Ivey, 9) Ronnie Johnson, 10) Donald Bradsher, 11) Duane Treadwell, 12) Brent Dixon, 13) Lavon Sparks, 14) Chase Washington, 14) Brian Reese, 16) Aaron Ridley, 17) Jody Knowles, 18) Dana Eiland, 19) William Thomas, 20) Dennis Franklin, 21) Montana Dudley, 22) Phillip Pittman (DNS)
Fast Time (22 entries): Davenport (14.04); Consolation Race winners: Pursley, Bradsher.

Mark Bochiardy photo


Wehrs Machine

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 10-02-11


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Billy Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

Weekend Warriors

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box