- July 18 - North Georgia Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


Randy Weaver at North Georgia Speedway Southern Nationals

Randy Weaver stepped into Derek Ellis's backup #99 and raced to his first ever Southern Nationals win at North Georgia Speedway. (Brian McLeod)

Southern Nationals: Weaver Pilots Ellis Mount to North Georgia Win

Series report

CHATSWORTH, Ga. - July 18. The Schaeffer Oil Southern Nationals Series rolled into the North Georgia Speedway tonight for another $5,300 to win showdown. Randy Weaver, of Crossville, Tennessee, etched his name into the record books for winning the first-ever Southern Nationals race at the northern Georgia speedplant.

Aboard Derek Ellis' #99 GRT racecar, Randy battled points leader Chris Madden for the top spot in the opening laps and went on to capture the victory in the rain-postponed 53-lap feature over a hard-charging Ronnie Johnson, Chris Madden, Chip Brindle, and Derek Ellis.

The prelims for this show took place last Thursday, July 14, but nature pushed back the 53-lap feature event until tonight. David Payne, who laid down the second quickest lap in qualifying last Thursday to earn a front-row starting spot, was not able to return tonight due to work commitments. That moved the entire outside lane up a row in the starting grid.

Weaver, who was aboard Derek Ellis' back-up #99 GRT car, swapped the lead with Chris Madden several times early in the race before taking the point for good on about the tenth circuit. Polesitter Mike Marlar piloted Vic Hill's #1 entry after engine woes sidelined his Warrior House Car. Marlar looped his borrowed ride in turn two on the opening lap and collected Jonathan Davenport, Tyler Ivey, and Ronnie Johnson, among others.

Johnson was the man on the move throughout the race, as he changed a damaged wheel and tire after the first-lap melee and stormed back through the field to earn runner-up honors behind Weaver. Chris Madden, who ran second most of the event, limped home on the last lap with mechanical problems underneath the rear-end of his #44 Team Zero race car.

July 18 - Southern Nationals - No. Georgia Speedway
1) Randy Weaver, 2) Ronnie Johnson, 3) Chris Madden, 4) Chip Brindle, 5) Derek Ellis, 6) Aaron Ridley, 7) Brian Reese, 8) Todd Morrow, 9) Tony Knowles, 10) Tyler Ivey, 11) Gary McPherson, 12) Tyler Millwood, 13) Donald Bradsher, 14) Johnny Pursley, 15) Daniel Baggerly (prov.), 16) Kevin Gibson, 17) Frank Ingram, 18) Mike Marlar, 19) Johnny Cloer (prov.), 20) Vic Hill,. 21) Jonathan Davenport, 22) David Payne (DNS)
Fast Time (29 entries): Marlar (12.789); Consolation Race winners: Ingram, Gibson

Thomas Hendrickson photo


Wehrs Machine

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 10-02-11


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Billy Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

Weekend Warriors

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box