- July 17 - Monett Speedway by Sam Holbrooks

Justin Wells grabbed his first MARS Series win Sunday night at Monett Speedway. (Ron Mitchell)

MARS: Wells Rolls to First Series Win of the Season

Brian Garrison

MONETT, Mo. – July 19. Justin Wells of Aurora, MO picked up his first feature win of the year on the 2011 MARS DIRTcar Series tour at Monett Speedway and earned $3,000 for his efforts Sunday.Wells, the 2010 Monett Speedway track champion, led all 30 laps and recorded his second career win with the series.

Brad Looney and Rylan Long at Monett Speedway

Brad Looney races the low side of Rylan Long before taking the runner up spot in MARS action at Monett Speedway. The Republic, Mo. driver made an impressive run from 17th. (Ron Mitchell)

Wells withstood challenges from six-time MARS champion Terry Phillips, who faded to fifth inthe final rundown as Brad Looney started 17th and picked up the chase from second. Hall of Famer Ken Essary finished third ahead of R.C. Whitwell of Tucson.

Justin Wells and Bill Koons at Monett Speedway

Justin Wells races outside of #29 Bill Koons before grabbing his first MARS win at Monett. (Ron Mitchell)

David Turner and John Anderson at Monett

David Turner and #2 John Anderson raced to ninth and tenth, respectively. (Ron Mitchell)

Ken Essary and Terry Phillips at Monett Speedway

Senior competitor Ken Essary (55) races MARS championTerry Phillips before getting the edge for a third place run ahead of Phillips' fifth place.(Ron Mitchell)

Jesse Stovall and John Anderson at Monett Speedway

Still trying to recover his earlier season muscle, Jesse Stovall races inside of John Anderson before picking up sixth place at Monett. (Ron Mitchell)

July 17 - MARS at Monett Speedway
1) Justin Wells, 2) Brad Looney, 3) Ken Essary, 4) R.C. Whitwell, 5) Terry Phillips, 6) Jesse Stovall, 7) Al Purkey, 8) Eric Turner, 9) David Turner, 10) John Anderson, 11) Bill Koons, 12) Jeff Roth, 13) Rylan Long, 14) Justin Asplin, 15) Brandon McCormick, 16) Jeremy Payne, 17) Dwight Niehoff, 18) Tony Jackson, Jr., 19) Shane Essary, 20) Patrick Johnson, 21) Larry Jones, 22) Leroy Johnson
Heat winners (30 entries): Phillips, Wells, Ken Essary, Shane Essary. B-Main winners: Looney, Asplin.

Ron Mitchell photo


Wehrs Machine

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 10-02-11


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Billy Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

Weekend Warriors

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box