- July 17 - Mid-Nebraska Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


NCRA: Daring Charge Nails Season's First NCRA Win  For Eckrich at Mid-Nebraska

David Smith, Jr.

DONIPHAN, Neb.— July 17. Denny Eckrich of Tiffin, Iowa took advantage of a late race restart and after executing a daring move at the top of turns one and two, took the lead and held on to win the O’Reilly Auto Parts/National Championship Racing Association late model nationals finale at Mid-Nebraska Speedway in Doniphan, Nebraska on Saturday.  

Corey Zeitner started on the pole for the 40 lap affair but it was outside front row starter Kelly Boen of Henderson, Colorado taking the lead when the green flag fell.  

Boen paced the field while behind him, two-time and defending series champion Kyle Berck and Eckrich waged a spirited battle for the runner up position as all three drivers quickly distanced themselves from the rest of the field. 

Action slowed on lap 12 for a spin, and once racing action resumed, so did the torrid pace set by the front runners.  The three drivers had lapped up to the tenth place position by the races midway point with four-time series champion Boen continuing out front. 

However, changes to the top spot would change with a lap 32 caution when Al Humphrey came to a stop on the race track. 

The restart saw Boen and Berck battle hard for position for several laps before Eckrich decided to give the top side of the three-eighths mile track a test. And a test he did as he drove around Boen and Berck, almost being forced off the track, only to keep his momentum down the backstretch and make a successful pass on the two front runners on lap 34.  

There was no stopping Eckrich from that point on as he led the final six laps to claim his first ever series late model nationals victory and first ever with the series. 

Boen held off Berck for the runner up position with Travis Dickies claiming the fourth position. Former series champion Delbert Smith of Wichita, Kansas capped off a successful weekend with a solid fifth place finish. 


NCRA - Mid-Nebraska Speedway
1) Denny Eckrich 2) Kelly Boen 3) Kyle Berck 4) Travis Dickes 5) Delbert Smith 6) Corey Zeitner 7) Dean Moore 8) Al Humphrey 9) Jason O’Brien 10) Bo Egge 11) Jase Kaser 12) Mike Wiarda 13) Alonzo Grosie 14) Gary Corby 15) David Brach 16) Alan Jordening 17) Alex Humphrey 18) Tracy Harr 19) Shawn Harker 20) Denton Duncan 21) Wylan Petrie 
Heat winners (21 entries) Zeitner, Eckrich, Berck
Ron Mitchell photo










Official Sponsors: O'Reilly Auto Parts, Hoosier Racing Tires, Sunoco Race Fuels  

Official Contingency Partners: Arizona Sports Shirts, Berheisel Racing Components, Hatfield Racing Engines, Hooker Harness, Keizer Aluminum Wheels, Lazer Chassis, Peterson Fluid Systems, Pro Shocks, Racing Optics, Real Racing Wheels, Rod End Supply, Saldana Racing Products, Schoenfeld Headers, Taylor Cable Products, The Joie of Seating, Ultra-Shield, Vertex Magnetos, Winters Performance Products.

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm


Updated 11/17/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine