- July 17 - Devil's Bowl Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


SUPR: Cummings Turns Back Veteran Adams at Devil's Bowl

Todd Turner (

MESQUITE, Texas — July 17 Front-row starter Kyle Cummings of Sibley, La. edged polesitter Ronny Adams of Greenwood, La., at the half-mile Devil’s Bowl Speedway to grab his fifth career O'Reilly Southern United Professional Racing tour victory. Cummings led all 25 laps en route to a one-length advantage at the checkered flag to earn $2,000.

Allen Tippen of Minden was third, Wendall Bolden of Greenville, Texas, finished fourth and SUPR points leader Rob Litton of Alexandria, La., rounded out the top five.

The win didn’t come without a scare for the 27-year old Cummings, who was involved in a caution while leading the race. Cummings had contact with a lapped car, making him loop his No. R5 machine around before the yellow waved.

"I just stayed in the gas," Cummings said in a phone interview. "I was able to get my spot back under yellow, but it erased my lead. Towards the end, I couldn't tell if Ronny was right up against me or so far back that I couldn't see him. My gut told me he was there,”

Cummings had a straightaway lead before Adams was able to draw near to make it interesting on a track that changed throughout the race.

"We have been close several times, but I am glad we finally got one. We have been running this Jay Dickens (engine) for about a year now and have some second places. It's good to get a win.”

RACE NOTES: Cummings drives a Victory Circle M1 by Stuckey with sponsorship from Childress Fishing Rentals, Stuckey Racing Enterprises, J&J Motorsports and Childress Inspection Service. ... Cummings drives for the two-car team of car owner Raymond Childress that includes Josh Danzy, who finished 11th. ... Cummings notched his first series victory since Aug. 1, 2008, at I-30 Speedway in Little Rock, Ark. ... Kyle is the son of 1998 SUPR champion Rusty Cummings ... Chris Holley of Dayton, Texas, was the biggest mover of the race inside the top 10, going from 21st to eighth.

July 17 - SUPR - Devil's Bowl Speedway
(1) Kyle Cummings, (2) Ronny Adams, (3) Allen Tippen, (4) Wendall Bolden, (5) Rob Litton, (6) Lee Davis, (7) Patrik Daniel, (8) Chris Holley, (prov.) (9) Ronnie Long, (10) Gary Christian, (11) Josh Danzy, (12) Alex Ashley (prov.), (13) John Ewell, (14) Skip O'Neal, (15) Gary Lowe, (16) Johnny Philpot Jr, (17) Jeff Chanler, (18) Jay Brunson, (19) David Ashley, (20) Max Eddie Thomas, (21) Jason Trevathan, (22) Darren Ellis.
Heat winners (among 34 cars): Daniel, Long, Adams, Thomas. Consolation race winners: Christian, D. Ashley. .

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm


Updated 11/17/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine