- July 16 - Screven Motor Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


Brent Dixon at Screven Motor Speedway Victory Lane

Southern Nationals winner Brent Dixon at Screven Motor Speedway. (Mark Bochiardy)

Southern Nationals: Dixon Gets Biggest Career Win at Screven Mini-Series Stop 

Series report

SYLVANIA, Ga. - July 16. Brent Dixon laid claim to his first career Schaeffer Oil Southern Nationals Series triumph tonight in the annual 'Rebel Yell' at the Screven Motor Speedway.

After timing in fastest of the 27 entrants during the qualifying session, Dixon held the talented field behind him for all 53 circuits. It wasn't easy, however, as Casey Roberts and Brandon Overton both took their shots at race leader

Davenport spins at Screven Motor Speedway Southern Nationals

The start of the Screven event was marked by a major upset among the front runners when defending series champ Jonathan Davenport spun and colleted several others. (below) Davenport winds up backwards in the track. (Mark Bochiardy)

Jonathan Davenport spun

 Dixon in the waning laps, but Dixon held off Overton by less than a car length to record his first Schaeffer Oil Southern Nationals Series triumph. Dixon wound up cashing the $5,300 winner's check by beating Overton, Johnny Pursley, Roberts, and points leader Chris Madden to the finish.

Reigning series champion Jonathan Davenport had another rough evening, as he spun out of the top five on the first lap of the race and was later caught up in a multi-car pile-up on the front stretch on lap 16.

Brandon Overton and Casey Roberts at Screven Motor Speedway

Brandon Overton takes over second from #101 Casey Roberts at Screven. (Mark Bochiardy)

Consolation race winner John Henderson hurt a motor en route to his prelim victory and was not able to compete in the 'Rebel Yell' feature event. Instead, past race winner Henry Carter was added to the starting lineup in his place.

 The next race for the series will be Sunday, July 17 at the famed Rome Speedway in Rome, Georgia.

Casey Roberts and Tyler Ivey at Screven Motor Speedway

Casey Roberts races inside of NLMS regular Tyler Ivey early in the Screven event. Roberts moved on to take fourth while Ivey was out early. (Mark Bochiardy)

July 16 - Screven Motor Speedway - Southern Nationals
1) Brent Dixon, 2) Brandon Overton, 3) Johnny Pursley, 4) Casey Roberts, 5) Chris Madden, 6) Phillip Pittman, 7) Donald Bradsher, 8) Tony Knowles, 9) Sean Meeks, 10) Chesley Dixon, 11) Tyler Millwood, 12) Munk Gulledge, 13) Keith Freeman, 14) Brian Nuttall, Jr., 15) Henry Carter, 16) Tyler Ivey, 17) Richie Corley (prov.), 18) Jonathan Davenport, 19) Casey Barrow, 20) Benji Cole, 21) Bubba Russell, 22) Mark Davis (prov.)
Fast Time (27 entries): Dixon (15.329); B-Main winners: Pursley, Henderson

Brian McLeod photo


Wehrs Machine

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 10-02-11


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Billy Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

Weekend Warriors

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box