- July 16 - Ponderosa Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


NASRA: Carrier Grabs "John Bradshaw Memorial" at Ponderosa

Michael Despain

JUNCTION CITY, Ky. - July 16. The NASRA Super Late Model Series visited Ponderosa Speedway on Friday for the 8th annual "John Bradshaw Memorial" event and Eddie Carrier, Jr. of Salt Rock, W.V. became the first repeat winner of the event with the $5,000 payday.   

Greg Johnson would grab the initial lead at the start of the 50 lap, $5,000 to win John Bradshaw Memorial event, followed by Scott James, Eddie Carrier, Jr., Justin Rattliff, and Mike Marlar. Carrier, Jr. would grab second on lap 2, while the first of ten cautions waved on lap 3 for debris in turn two.   

Back underway, Marlar would take fourth from Rattliff, while James scraped the concrete in turn two on lap 4, allowing Marlar to take third, bringing Dustin Neat along into fourth. Debris on the backchute would slow the field again on lap 5 and the restart would also come back when Neat would slow in turn one. Only one more green flag would be completed when Rattliff would slow on the frontchute and pull pitside. The restart would see Victor Lee take fourth spot away from James, while Carrier, Jr. put the heat on Johnson for the lead. Carrier, Jr would be successful on lap 8 and grab the race lead, with Marlar now challenging Johnson for second. James would draw the next caution on lap 11 when his mount spun exiting turn two after losing a tire and wheel.  

When racing resumed, Carrier, Jr. would still hold the lead, while D.J. Wells and David Webb would mix it up for fifth, with Webb taking the spot on lap 12. Carrier, Jr. would start lapping slower traffic on lap 16, while Marlar continued to pursue Johnson for second. Neat would draw the next caution when his mount slowed on the frontchute. The restart would see Marlar get by Johnson for second, while Webb pressured Lee for fourth. The next caution would appear on lap 24 when Tim Tungate would get crossed up in turn four and D.J. Wells would make contact with Tungate, with Skylar Marlar also involved, with Tungate and Wells done for the night. The front five would remain the same until Brandon Fouts would be the cause of the next caution on lap 30 after contacting the wall in turn two.   

The restart would again see Carrier, Jr. keep the race lead, with Mike Marlar and Johnson second and third, while Lee and Webb continued to mix it up for fourth. Marlar would begin to reel in Carrier, Jr. by lap 40 and the front pair would begin to go at it for the lead, with Marlar pulling alongside Carrier, Jr. in turn one in traffic on lap 44 only to have Arnie Fields slow exiting turn two, causing Marlar to check-up and allow Carrier, Jr. to get a bit of breathing room. The caution would fly for Fields as he rolled to a stop in turn three. The final few circuits saw Marlar make one more run at Carrier, Jr. for the lead, only to have the final caution wave with two laps remaining for a spin by Fields in turn two. 

The final two trips saw Carrier, Jr. maintain the lead and drive to the victory in the Carl Grover owned Engines, Inc./Cox Wrecker Service/Blue Ridge Machinery and Tool/ Grover Motorsports sponsored #28 Rocket Chassis, Grover Race Engines powered mount.  Marlar, Johnson, Lee, and Webb would complete the top five. The remainder of the top ten would be Chris Combs, Aaron Ridley, Skylar Marlar, Fields, and Christian Rayburn.   


8th Annual John Bradshaw Memorial
1) Eddie Carrier, Jr., 2) Mike Marlar, 3) Greg Johnson, 4) Victor Lee, 5) David Webb, 6) Chris Combs, 7) Aaron Ridley, 8) Skylar Marlar, 9) Arnie Fields, 10) Christian Rayburn (prov.), 11) Chase McWhorter, 12) Ernie Cordier, 13) Brandon Fouts, 14) Tim Tungate, 15) D.J. Wells, 16) Dustin Neat, 17) Michael Chilton, 18) Jeff Watson, 19) Scott James, 20) Justin Rattliff, 21) Dustin Linville
Fast Time (25 entries): Carrier (13.721 secs.); Heat winners: Carrier, johnson, James; B-Main winner: S. Marlar

Thomas Hendrickson photo

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm


Updated 11/17/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine