- July 16 - Mid-Nebraska Speedway NCRA by Sam Holbrooks


NCRA: Boen Returns to Racing For "Nationals" Win at Mid-Nebraska

David Smith, Jr.

Doniphan, Nebraska – July 16. Racing part-time thus far during the 2011 race season, five-time and defending series champion Kelly Boen of Henderson, Colorado came back to compete with the National Championship Racing Association (NCRA) DIRTCar late model series and wasted little time grabbing his first victory of the season. Boen claimed the 10th annual Smiley’s NCRA "Late Model Nationals" Saturday at Mid-Nebraska Speedway. The event was also combined with the NCRA DIRTCar Great Plains late model region.

The 25 lap feature got off to a rough start with a five car pileup that included Mike Wiarda, Joe Kosiski, Shawn Harker, Casey Landers and Scott Koskovich, with Koskovich the only car unable to return.

Craig Preble jumped out into the lead and led the first seven laps with fifth starting Boen on his rear bumper. Both drivers made contact entering turn three sending Preble into a spin. While the caution flag appeared, Preble never lost forward motion and was able to regain the lead.

Boen was all over Preble on the restart and on lap ten would take the lead and never look back. Bill Leighton began making his move towards the front, passing Preble for the runner up position with ten laps to go, but could never get close enough to mount a serious challenge for the lead.

In the end it was Boen claiming his fourth career NCRA Late Model Nationals and his first victory with the series on the 2011 race season. Leighton finished a strong second while Preble settled for third. Mike Maruchak came home fourth while NCRA Great Plains late model points leader Steve Kempt rounded out the top five.

Wiarda and Kosiski, who were involved in the pile up at the start of the feature, came back through the field to finish sixth and seventh, respectively.


July 17 - NCRA at Mid-Nebraska Speedway
1) Kelly Boen 2) Bill Leighton 3) Craig Preble 4) Mike Marushak 5) Steve Kempt 6) Mike Wiarda 7) Joe Kosiski 8) Bo Egge 9) Jase Kaser 10) Micah Brown 11) Ty Leonard 12) Shawn Harker 13) Brad Wagner 14) Casey Landers 15) Ross Evans 16) Denton Duncan 17) Lester Duncan 18) Chris Avery 19) Dean Moore 20) Scott Koskovich
Heat winners (20 entries): Kempt, Wiarda, Moore.

Lloyd Collins photo


Wehrs Machine

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 10-02-11


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Billy Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

Weekend Warriors

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box