- July 14 - Kokomo Speedway by Sam Holbrooks

Rusty Schlenk at Kokomo Speedway. (Jim Denhamer) 
DIRTcar Summer Nationals: "Hell Tour's" Best Get Schlenked at Kokomo

Kellen Burns

KOKOMO, Ind. - July 14. DIRTcar Late Model National points leader Rusty Schlenk took on the top three contenders in the DIRTcar Summer Nationals "Hell Tour" Wednesday at Kokomo Speedway and showed why he's on top of the nationwide standings. Schlenk fought off an assault from Jason Feger, Dennis Erb, Jr., and Shannon Babb to capture the 26th night of competition and earn the first victory of his career during the grueling month-long tour.

Ken Schrader and #99 Frank Heckenast race for tenth position at Kokomo.

(Matthew Dickinson)








 Schlenk, of Jackson, Mich., pocketed $5,000 for the victory and became the second driver in three nights to earn his first Summer Nationals victory after Ryan Unzicker won Monday at Spoon River Speedway. He gained not only DIRTcar Summer Nationals points, but valuable points towards a potential National Late Model championship, as well. Feger, the current Summer Nationals points leader, is the defending national champion.

Rusty Schlenk - Dennis Erb - Shannon Babb - Kokomo Summer Nationals

Rusty Schlenk leads Dennis Erb and Shannon Babb to a close finish at Kokomo Speedway on Wednesday. (Matthew Dickinson)

Defending Summer Nationals champion Erb finished second to regain ground on Feger in their battle for the Summer Nationals title.  Babb rallied from an early spin and finished third ahead of Feger and Steve Casebolt.

Summernationals - Kokomo Speedway - July 14
(1) Rusty Schlenk, (2) Dennis Erb Jr., (3) Shannon Babb, (4) Jason Feger, (5) Steve Casebolt, (6) Jack Sullivan, (7) Jason McBride, (8) Tyler Reddick, (9) Ryan Unzicker, (10) Frank Heckenast Jr., (11) Brandon Sheppard, (12) Michael Chilton, (13) Ken Schrader, (14) Brandon Thirlby (prov.), (15) J.R. Hotovy (prov.), (16) Donny Walden, (17) Joe Janowski, (18) Craig Vosbergen, (19) Jeep Van Wormer, (20) Doug Drown, (21) Jim Moon (prov.)

Fast Time (26 entries): Jeep Van Wormer (14.055 secs.); Heat winners: Feger, Casebolt, Schlenk.

Jim Denhamer photo

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm


Updated 11/17/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine