- July 12 - Spoon River Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


Ryan Unzicer, Jack Sullivam, Jason Feger at Spoon River Summer Nationals

Ryan Unzicker becomes the third wheel in a duel for the lead at Spoon River before ultimately coming away with the top spot and his first Summer Nationals victory.  (Mike Ruefer)

DIRTcar Summer Nationals: Unzicker Breaks Out With First Hell Tour Win at the Spoon

BANNER, Ill. - July 12. Coming from his fourth row starting spot, Ryan Unzicker, of El Paso, Ill., elbowed his way into a battle for the lead between two other 2010 DIRTcar Summer Nationals "Hell Tour" regulars and came away with the

Ryan Unzicker after his "Hell Tour" win at Spoon River Speedway. (Mike Ruefer) 
lead and the win in the rain-postponed Spoon River Speedway installment of the tour.

Having successfully battled off high-flying series points leader Jason Feger, Jack Sullivan had taken aim at his secibd win of the 2010 tour, but it wasn't to be as paint swapped between himself and hub-hugging newcomer Unzicker. Sullivan got a bit loose and lost several positions before collecting his GRT flagship.

After the early scramble sorted out, Feger held down the early lead while polesitter Jeep Van Wormer was quickly shuffled out of winning contention by Tim Lance and Shannon Babb. Sullivan roared into the fight and chased Babb past Lance, then slipped under Babb for second. Sullivan got a run on Feger after a mid-race caution and appeared to have a reasonable shot at his first Summer Nationals

Tim Lance - Jason Feger - Spoon River Summer Nationals

Tim Lance gets back by #25 Jason Feger to finish reclaim second in Summer Nationals action at Spoon Rive Speedway .(Mike Ruefer)

win before the contact between the frontrunners sent Sullivan's #1 out of shape and Unzicker's #24 on toward the checkered flag with a large lead.

Lance was able to get back under Feger to retake second, leaving Feger in third with a still solid gain in series points. Van Wormer also found some extra pedal and was able to get back around Babb to finish fourth, leaving Babb to round out the top five ahead of Sullivan.

Former points leader Dennis Erb, Jr. saw his shot at the 2010 title take another hit with a tenth place finish after having to enter the starting grid through his B-Main win.

Summernationals - Spoon River Speedway
1) Ryan Unzicker, 2) Tim Lance, 3) Jason Feger, 4) Jeep Van Wormer, 5) Shannon Babb, 6) Jack Sullivan, 7) Doug Drown, 8) Brian Shirley, 9) Steve Lance, Jr., 10) Dennis Erb, Jr., 11) Bobby Pierce, 12) Kevin Weaver, 13) Dillan White, 14) Joe Harlan, 15) Jason McBride (prov.), 16) Brian Diveley (prov.), 17) Donny Walden, 18) Brandon Sheppard, 19) Brad Denney (prov.), 20) Charley Hess, 21) Frank Heckenast, Jr. (prov.), 22) Billy Moyer, Jr., 23) Dustin Griffin (prov.), 24) Boone McLaughlin (prov.).

Fast Time (38 entries): Feger; Heat winners: Feger, Van Wormer, Drown, Tim Lance; B-Main winner: Erb

Mike Ruefer photo

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm


Updated 11/17/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine