- July 12 - Brownstown Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


DirtCar Summer Nationals: Woes Between Foes Launches Babb to Another Win at Brownstown

Kellen Burns

BROWNSTOWN, Ind. - July 12. Shannon Babb is becoming quite the familiar face in Victory Lane starting the final week  of DirtCar Summer Nationals "Hell Tour" competition after winning Tuesday at Brownstown Speedway.

Babb started second and ran third behind early leader Jeep Van Wormer before contact between Van Wormer and "Dream 100" winner Don O'Neal sent O'Neal pit side and left Van Wormer with an ill-handling car.  Babb would capitalize with 10 laps remaining, leading the remaining distance to earn the win worth $5,000. 

Babb's win is his fifth of the tour, winning all three events held in the Hoosier state in 2011.  Former DIRTcar Summer Nationals Champion Dennis Erb Jr., of Carpentersville, Ill., finished second after being involved in a lap one caution, which the winner Babb was also caught in.  Dunville, Ky., driver Dustin Neat finished third ahead of fellow Kentuckian Dillan White of Crofton.  Jack Sullivan rounded out the top five, climbing from his 11th place starting spot.

Babb, who is seeking his third 'Hell Tour' championship, extends his point lead heading into the final four events of the 2011 DIRTcar Summer Nationals to 206 points over Scott James of Lawrenceburg, Ind., and 286 points over Erb.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals will return to action Wednesday, July 13 at LaSalle (Ill.) Speedway.

Summer Nationals at Brownstown Speedway
1. Shannon Babb, 2. Dennis Erb Jr., 3. Dustin Neat, 4. Dillan White, 5. Jack Sullivan, 6. Ryan Unzicker, 7. Jeep Van Wormer, 8. Matt Miller, 9. Bobby Pierce, 10. Scott James, 11. Justin Rattliff, 12. Donny Walden, 13. Mike Spatola, 14. Chad Stapleton (pr5ov.), 15. Chris Streeval, 16. Tanner English (prov.), 17. Craig Vosbergen (prov.), 18. Don O'Neal 19. Steve Casebolt, 20. Joe Janowski, 21. Brandon Sheppard (prov.), 22. Mike Jewell.
Fast Time:(40 entries): Sheppard, Babb, Erb, Van Wormer; Heat winners: Neat, Babb, O'Neal, Van Wormer; B-main winner: Unzicker.

Mike Ruefer photo


Wehrs Machine

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 10-02-11


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Billy Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

Weekend Warriors

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box