- July 11 - Quincy Raceways by Sam Holbrooks

Brian Shirley - Jeep Van Wormer - Ruefer  

Eventual winner Jeep Van Wormer averted disaster when leader Brian Shirley suddenly shut down in front of Van Wormer's #55 on lap seven of the Sunday's Summer Nationals event at Quincy (Ill.) Raceways. Shirley got a "lift" to the pits and Van Wormer's mount survived to lead the rest of the affair to take his place in Victory Lane (below) for the fourth time this tour. (Mike Ruefer) 
Jeep Van Wormer after Summer Nationals win #4 at Quincy, Ill. (Mike Ruefer)
DIRTcar Summer Nationals: Jeep Dodges a Bullet For Fourth "Hell Tour" Win at Quincy 

Kellen Burns

QUINCY, Ill. - July 11. Jeep Van Wormer didn't let a near miss with leader Brian Shirley, or a late arrival at the race track, slow him down Sunday at Quincy Raceways during the 23rd stop of the "Hell Tour".

The Pinconning, Mich., driver, who arrived late as a result of a flat tire on his hauler earlier in the day, used an outside front row starting spot to put him in

Ryan Unzicker - Jeep Van Wormer - Quincy Summer Nationals

Ryan Unzicker got a front row start, but he'd have to settle for third after #55 Van Wormer got by, then inherited the lead from a broken Brian Shirley.  (Mike Ruefer)


Local favorite Mark Burgtorf slips under Denny Woodworth as he advances to fifth at Quincy.

(Mike Ruefer)

 position to capitalize when Brian Shirley's engine woes suddenly slowed his #48 early seven laps into the 40-lap main event. As Van Wormer trailed Shirley, he suddenly found himself with a full view of the rear assembly of Shirley's Steve Lance-owned mount as his own #55 nosed underneath the stalled car.

What might have been a radiator-busting detour to the pits for the night was averted, however, and Van Wormer was able to race the rest of the way unencumbered to earn his fourth win of the 2010 mini-tour.

Jason Feger puts #32 Bobby Pierce a lap down as he races in second at Quincy.

(Mike Ruefer)









Current series point leader Jason Feger of Bloomington, Ill., climbed from eighth and finally passed Ryan Unzicker at the halfway point to finish second behind Van Wormer, but will extend his point lead over defending Summer Nationals Champion Dennis Erb Jr., who settled for a seventh place finish on the night.

Unzicker, of El Paso, Ill., finished third ahead of Wooster, Ohio's Doug Drown. Local competitor and multiple time track champion Mark Burgtorf of Quincy rounded out the top five.

July 11 - Summer Nationals - Quincy Raceways
1) Jeep Van Wormer, (2) Jason Feger, (3) Ryan Unzicker, (4) Doug Drown, (5) Mark Burgtorf, (6) Shannon Babb, (7) Dennis Erb, Jr., (8) Jack Sullivan, (9) Denny Woodworth, (10) Tim Lance, (11) Craig Vosbergen, (12) Bobby Pierce, (13) Brandon Thirlby, (14) Dustin Griffin, (15) Justin Reed, (16) Donny Walden, (17) Brandon Sheppard, (18) Jason McBride, (19) Steve Lance, Jr., (20) Brian Shirley, (21) Billy Moyer, Jr.
Mike Ruefer photo








B-Main (cars still on track): Brandon Thirlby, Steve Lance Jr., Rickey Frankel, Craig Vosbergen, Keith Pratt, Billy Genenbacher, Dustin Neese, Sam Halstead, Terry Gallaher, Russ Schoonover.

Fourth heat: Jeep Van Wormer, Jason Feger, Shannon Babb, Billy Moyer Jr., Rickey Frankel, Keith Pratt, Jason McBride, Justin Reed.

Third heat: Brian Shirley, Denny Woodworth, Jack Sullivan, Brandon Sheppard, Steve Lance Jr., Craig Vosbergen, Terry Gallaher. Scratched: Joey Gower.

Second heat: Doug Drown, Bobby Pierce, Tim Lance, Dustin Griffin, Dustin Neese, Billy Genenbacher, Robby Warner, Clint Kirkham.

First heat: Ryan Unzicker, Mark Burgtorf, Dennis Erb Jr., Donny Walden, Brandon Thirlby, Sam Halstead, Russ Schoonover, Darin Weisinger.

Time trials (unofficial)
First group

Mark Burgtorf (7B), Quincy, Ill., 13.059
Ryan Unzicker (24), El Paso, Ill., 13.189
Dennis Erb Jr. (28), Carpentersville, Ill., 13.497
Donny Walden (1w), Towanda, Ill., 13.552
Brandon Thirlby (m14), Traverse City, Mich., 13.66
Sam Halstead (84), New London, Iowa, 14.346
Darin Weisinger (11), Mendon, Ill., 15.541
Russ Schoonover (59), Bolten, England, 16.385
Second group
Doug Drown (12), Wooster, Ohio, 13.186
Bobby Pierce (32), Oakwood, Ill., 13.297
Tim Lance (48), Brimfield, Ill., 13.408
Dustin Griffin (20), Camp Point, Ill., 13.934
Robby Warner (79), Quincy, Ill., 14.243
Dustin Neese (8N), Nebo, Ill., 14.247
Clint Kirkham (28k), Camden, Ill., 14.477
Billy Genenbacher (72), Camp Point, Ill., 14.777
Third group
Brian Shirley (48x), Chatham, Ill., 13.243
Denny Woodworth (45dw), Mendon, Ill., 13.285
Jack Sullivan (1), Greenbrier, Ark., 13.386
Craig Vosbergen (8), Perth, Western Australia, 13.426
Steve Lance Jr. (25), Cuba, Ill., 13.434
Brandon Sheppard (B5), New Berlin, Ill., 13.560
Joey Gower (31), Quincy, Ill., 14.138
Terry Gallaher (0), New London, Mo., 14.503
Fourth group
Jason Feger (25), Bloomington, Ill., 13.036
Jeep Van Wormer (55), Pinconning, Mich., 13.080
Billy Moyer Jr. (21jr), Batesville, Ark., 13.286
Shannon Babb (18), Moweaqua, Ill., 13.370
Rickey Frankel (33), Quincy, Ill., 13.455
Jason McBride (77), Carbondale, Ill., 13.509
Justin Reed (4), Quincy, Ill., 13.829
Keith Pratt (33), Mendon, Ill., 14.829


LMA t-shirts 2010 sm


Updated 11/17/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine