- July 10 - Tri-State Speedway by Sam Holbrooks


Shannon Babb - Bobby Pierce at Tri-State Speedway

Young Bobby Pierce raced to a fifth place showing at Tri-State Speedway, but no one could derail #18 Shannon Babb's train en route to his fourth "Hell Tour" win. (Drew England)

DirtCar Summer Nationals: Babb Streaks to Fourth "Hell Tour" Win at Tri-State

Kellen Burns

HAUBSTADT, Ind. - July 10. Shannon Babb showed why he's at the top of the DirtCar Summer Nationals by winning Sunday at Tri-State Speedway. Babb had no easy task after starting seventh, but masterfully navigated traffic using the high side of the quarter-mile oval to pass Scott James of Lawrenceburg, Ind. with four laps remaining to score his fourth victory of the 'Hell Tour'.

James finished second ahead of Pinconning, Mich., driver Jeep Van Wormer, who he had battled early on in the main event. Rodney Melvin of Benton, Ill., a former DIRTcar Late Model National Champion, finished fourth. Young Bobby Pierce, son of Dirt Late Model Hall of Fame driver Bob Pierce, finished fifth, his best finish on tour to date.

Rodney Melvin and Scott James at Tri-State Speedway

Second running Scott James races around the outside of B-Feature winner Rodney Melvin at Tri-State. (Drew England)

Babb will extend his point lead to 173 markers over James, and to 293 points over defending DIRTcar Summer Nationals Champion Jason Feger of Bloomington, Ill., who finished 21st.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals will return to action Tuesday, July 12 at Brownstown (Ind.) Speedway to make up the tour's opener that was postponed due to weather.

Shannon Babb, Scott James, and Jeep Van Wormer at Tri-State Speedway 
While #81 Scott James and #55 Jeep Van Wormer duke it out up front, #18 Shannon Babb emerges from his seventh place start before passing James with four to go and advancing to his fifth special event win of the season at Tri-State Speedway. (Drew England) 

Kloos Penalty Appeal

A penalty was issued to Michael Kloos related to the tires he used to win the Hell Tour event June 29 at Belle Clair Speedway. Kloos has appealed the penalty.

July 10 Summer Nationals - Tri-State Speedway
1. Shannon Babb, 2. Scott James, 3. Jeep Van Wormer, 4. Rodney Melvin, 5. Bobby Pierce, 6. Ryan Unzicker, 7. Matt Miller, 8. Dillan White, 9. Kent Robinson, 10. Dennis Erb Jr., 11. Randy Korte, 12. Mike Spatola (prov.), 13. Jack Sullivan, 14. Chad Zobrist, 15. Victor Lee (prov.), 16. Donny Walden, 17. Brandon Sheppard (prov.), 18. Jason Riggs, 19. Chad Stapleton, 20. Jeff Walston (prov.), 21. Jason Feger, 22. Michael Kloos.
Fast qualifiers (35 entries): James, Sullivan, Van Wormer, Miller. Heat winners: James, Pierce, Van Wormer, Melvin. B-main winner: Riggs.

Jim Denhamer photo


Wehrs Machine

A-Team smbl

Top 50 Drivers For Period Ending 10-02-11


Other Results from October 1-2

Brushcreek Motorsports Complex - Heritage/Billy Bob Weekend

MSCC at Jackson Motor Speedway

Western All Stars at Antioch Speedway and Merced Raceway

Total Seal Late Model Series at Canyon Speedway Park

Weekend Warriors

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm

Your ad here

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models


Midwest Dirt Track Facts

Dirt Racer Magazine 

 Your logo here

Your ad here - box