- July 10 - Mountain Raceway Park by Sam Holbrooks


MRP Starting field

With Kenny Compton on the pole, a 28-car field prepares to take the green flag at Mountain Raceway Park.(Michael Nuchols photo)

NeSmith Chevrolet DLMS: Johnson Keeps Personal Streak Alive With MRP Win

Roby Helm

MARYVILLE, Tenn. – July 10. Ronnie Johnson of Chattanooga, Tenn., captured his 13th career victory with the NeSmith Chevrolet Dirt Late Model Series Saturday at Mountain Raceway Park. The victory kept the National Dirt Late Model Hall of Famer’s streak alive of winning at least one race in each of the series’ six seasons.

Ronnie Johnson - Mountain Raceway Park NeSmith Cherolet Series

Michael Nuchols photo

It was a typical Ronnie Johnson night, as he arrived at the track late, qualified 23rd quick without hot laps, came from seventh to third in his qualifying race, started 15th in the main event, then rallied to overtake race-long leader Greg Martin on lap 44 of 50. He took the checkered three seconds ahead of Martin.

"We’ve had a rough week, and an especially rough day, and I didn’t think we were going to make it here tonight," Johnson said. "We got about halfway here, and I thought about turning around and going back home, but I’m glad we didn’t."

Martin led 43 laps but knew he had his hands full in the race’s late stages. "When I looked up at the scoreboard and saw that Johnson was up to third, I knew we were about to have a bad night," he said.

Jason Welshan of Madisonville, Tenn., finished third and fast qualifier Kenny Compton of Bland, Va., was fourth. Jake Teague of Oliver Springs rounded out the top five.


Jason Welshan and Mississippi's Chris McElhenney (#28) warm up for action at MRP.

(Michael Nuchols)










Mountain Raceway Park "Thunder on the Mountain 50"
(1) Ronnie Johnson, (2) Greg Martin, (3) Jason Welshan, (4) Kenny Compton Jr., (5) Jake Teague, (6) Eric Cooley, (7) Brian Kinnersley, (8) Steve Jones, (9) Brandon Williams, (10) Matthew Turner, (11) Justin McRee, (prov.) Shannon Lee, (13) Justin Summers, (14) Adam Beeler, (15) Randy Weaver, (16) Michael Blount, (prov.) Larry Harrod, (18) Hunter Best, (19) Chris McElhenney, (20) Chuck Laney, (21) Chris Wilson, (22) Brad Hall, (23) Charlie Henderson, (24) Tyler Millwood.
Fast Time (29 entries): Compton (17.715 secs.) B-Main winners: Turner, Hall.

Thomas Hendrickson photo

LMA t-shirts 2010 sm


Updated 11/17/10

A-Team sm

Complete Rundown of America's 50 Best Late Model Performers      

Dynamic Decals 1 

Primary Tours / Events
Regional Tours / Events
Crate Late Models
Weekend Warriors

Facebook  __________________

Local Results from Across America

Weekend Warriors 1

Cory Stivason photo

Dirt Racer Magazine